STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2017 No. 210

TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING, ENGLAND & WALES

The High Speed Rail (London – West Midlands) (Qualifying Authorities) Order 2017

Made - - - - 23rd February 2017

Coming into force - - 24th February 2017

tary of State for Transport in evergise of the powers conferred by paragraph

The Secretary of State for Transport, in exercise of the powers conferred by paragraph 13(1) of Schedule 17 to the High Speed Rail (London – West Midlands) Act 2017(a) makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the High Speed Rail (London – West Midlands) (Qualifying Authorities) Order 2017 and comes into force on 24th February 2017.

Undertakings given by local authorities

2. The planning authorities specified in the Schedule had, on or before the day on which the Bill for the High Speed Rail (London – West Midlands) Act 2017 was reported from Select Committee in the House of Lords, given the Secretary of State undertakings with respect to the handling of planning matters arising under Schedule 17 to that Act which he considered satisfactory and have not subsequently been released from their undertakings.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Andrew Jones
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Department for Transport

23rd February 2017

SCHEDULE

Article 2

Qualifying Authorities

Aylesbury Vale District Council

Birmingham City Council

Buckinghamshire County Council

Cherwell District Council

Chiltern District Council

Hertfordshire County Council

Lichfield District Council

London Borough of Brent

London Borough of Camden

London Borough of Ealing

London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham

London Borough of Hillingdon

Manchester City Council

Northamptonshire County Council

North Warwickshire Borough Council

Old Oak & Park Royal Development Corporation

Oxfordshire County Council

Slough Borough Council

Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council

South Bucks District Council

South Northamptonshire Council

Staffordshire County Council

Stratford on Avon District Council

Three Rivers District Council

Warwickshire County Council

Warwick District Council

Westminster City Council

Wycombe District Council

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order specifies the planning authorities which are qualifying authorities for the purposes of Schedule 17 to the High Speed Rail (London – West Midlands) Act 2017. Schedule 17 establishes a planning regime that seeks to give the qualifying authorities an appropriate degree of control over the detailed planning aspects of the Phase One stage of the HS2 programme.