

27 November 2008

PATENTS ACT 1977

PARTIES Smart Holograms Limited,

Roger Bradley Millington, Christopher Robin Lowe, Colin Bennett Davidson, Jeffrey Blyth, Satyamoorthy Kabilan and

Alexander James Marshall

ISSUE Whether Roger Bradley Millington

should be mentioned as sole inventor and the names of the current inventors removed for patent application number GB 0703189.1 under section 13

HEARING OFFICER

S M Williams

DECISION

- Following the international phase of international patent application number PCT/GB2005/002226, patent application number GB 0703189.1 entered the national phase in the UK and proceeded to publication as GB 2433129. The original PCT application named five inventors; Christopher Robin Lowe, Colin Bennett Davidson, Jeffrey Blyth, Satyamoorthy Kabilan and Alexander James Marshall.
- 2 Smart Holograms Limited, the patent applicant, has made an application under rule 10(2) of the Patents Rules 2007 to the effect that Roger Bradley Millington should be named as sole inventor. The patent applicant has also filed an application under section 13(3) of the Patents Act 1977 to remove the names of the five inventors currently shown in the application.
- Bach of the five named inventors has confirmed in writing that Roger Bradley Millington should be named as sole inventor. Roger Bradley Millington has also confirmed in writing that he should be named as sole inventor. I therefore conclude that the relevant parties agree that Christopher Robin Lowe, Colin Bennett Davidson, Jeffrey Blyth, Satyamoorthy Kabilan and Alexander James Marshall should not be mentioned as inventors in relation to the patent application and that Roger Bradley Millington should be mentioned as sole inventor.

- Accordingly I find that Roger Bradley Millington should be mentioned as sole inventor in any patent granted for the invention. I also direct, in accordance with rule 10(1), that an addendum slip mentioning him as sole inventor be prepared for the published patent application.
- This decision serves as a certificate, issued in accordance with section 13(3), to the effect that Christopher Robin Lowe, Colin Bennett Davidson, Jeffrey Blyth, Satyamoorthy Kabilan and Alexander James Marshall should not have been mentioned as inventors in the published patent application.

S M WILLIAMS

B3 Head of Litigation Section, acting for the Comptroller