2012 No. 325

CRIMINAL LAW

The Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2012

Made - - - - 13th August 2012

Coming into operation - 8th October 2012

The Department of Justice makes the following Regulations, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 87(1) of the Sexual Offences Act 2003(a) and now vested in it(b):

Citation and commencement

1. These Regulations may be cited as the Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2012 and shall come into operation on 8th October 2012.

Prescribed police stations

2. The police stations listed in the Schedule to these Regulations are prescribed for the purposes of section 87(1)(a) of the Sexual Offences Act 2003.

Revocation

3. Schedule 2 to the Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) Regulations 2010(c) is revoked.

Sealed with the Official Seal of the Department of Justice on 13th August 2012



David Ford Minister of Justice

⁽a) 2003 c.42; section 138(5) and (8) which makes relevant supplementary provisions relating to the exercise of the section 87(1) power by the Department of Justice was inserted by Article 12 of and paragraph 77 (1) and (3) of Schedule 14 to the Northern Ireland Act 1998 (Devolution of Policing and Justice Functions) Order 2010 (S.I. 2010/976).

⁽b) Article 12 of and paragraph 77 (1) and (2) of Schedule 14 to S.I. 2010/976 transferred the function of the Secretary of State under section 87(1) of the 2003 Act (in its application to Northern Ireland) to the Department of Justice in Northern Ireland.

⁽c) S.I. 2010/207.

Police stations in Northern Ireland

Tonce stations in Portnern Heland		
Police Service of Northern	Antrim Police Station	Antrim Road Police Station
Ireland	24 Castle Street	280 Antrim Road
	Antrim	Belfast
	BT41 4AU	BT15 5AA
	Ardmore Police Station	Armagh Police Station
	3 Belfast Road	1-2 City View
	Newry	Newry Road
	BT34 1EF	Armagh
		BT60 1EP
	Ballycastle Police Station	Ballymena Police Station
	<u> </u>	-
	12 Ramoan Road	26 Galgorm Road
	Ballycastle	Ballymena
	BT54 6EG	BT43 5EX
	Ballymoney Police Station	Banbridge Police Station
	79 Charlotte Street	14 Castlewellan Road
	Ballymoney	Banbridge
	BT53 6AZ	BT32 4AX
	D133 0AZ	B132 4AA
	Bangor Police Station	Carrickfergus Police Station
	1-3 Castle Park Avenue	16-18 Green Street
	Bangor	Carrickfergus
	BT20 4BS	BT38 7DT
	Castlereagh Police Station	Coleraine Police Station
	2 Alexander Road	17 Lodge Road
	Belfast	Coleraine
	ВТ6 9НН	BT52 1LU
	Downpatrick Police Station	Dungannon Police Station
	43 Irish Street	1 Quarry Lane
		~ ~
	Downpatrick	Dungannon
	BT30 6BX	BT70 1HX
	Enniskillen Police Station	Grosvenor Road Police Station
	48 Queen Street	105-117 Grosvenor Road
	Enniskillen	Belfast
	BT74 7JR	BT12 4GL
	21/1/010	2112 101
	Larne Police Station	Limavady Police Station
	2 Hope Street	11 Connell Street
	Larne	Limavady
	BT40 1UR	BT49 0EA
	Lisburn Police Station	Lurgan Police Station
		Lurgan Police Station
	15 Barrack Street	62 Church Place
	Lisburn	Lurgan
	BT28 1TJ	BT66 6HD

Magherafelt Police Station 45-49 Meeting Street

Magherafelt BT45 6BW Musgrave Police Station 60 Victoria Street

Belfast BT1 3GL

Newtownabbey Police Station

416-426 Shore Road Newtownabbey BT37 9RT Newtownards Police Station

36-40 John Street Newtownards BT23 4LX

Omagh Police Station

1 Derry Road Omagh BT78 5DR Strabane Police Station

23 Bowling Green

Strabane BT82 8BW

Strand Road Police Station

81A Strand Road Londonderry BT48 7AA

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

The Sexual Offences Act 2003 ("the 2003 Act") imposes notification requirements on offenders convicted of certain sexual offences. These offenders are called "relevant offenders". The 2003 Act requires relevant offenders to notify certain personal information to the police, both at the outset and periodically thereafter. Section 87(1) of the 2003 Act provides that relevant offenders give such notification by attending at any police station in the relevant offender's local police area which is prescribed in regulations. These Regulations prescribe those police stations in Northern Ireland.

For the purposes of section 87 of the 2003 Act, "local police area" is defined in section 88(3) of the 2003 Act. Section 88(3) of the 2003 Act applies as if Northern Ireland were a police area (section 88(5) of the 2003 Act). In their application to Northern Ireland references to police areas in Part 2 of the 2003 Act are to be read as references to Northern Ireland (section 136(3) of the 2003 Act).

These Regulations revoke Schedule 2 to the Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) Regulations 2010 (S.I. 2010/207) so as to provide an updated list of prescribed police stations which are available to relevant sex offenders in Northern Ireland, for notification purposes. Specifically, the changes made to the list of prescribed police stations are: the name of Newry police station has been changed to its official name of Ardmore police station and the name of Craigavon police station has been changed to its official name of Lurgan police station; Strandtown police station and Cookstown police station have been removed from the list, as they no longer provide the required facilities to receive relevant offenders; and the addresses of Musgrave police station and Omagh police station have been changed to take account of their relocation.

© Crown copyright 2012

Printed in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office being the Government Printer for Northern Ireland and the Officer appointed to print Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly.

2012 No. 325

CRIMINAL LAW

The Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations)
Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2012



£4.00