WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 119 (W. 21)

COUNTRYSIDE, WALES

The National Park Authorities (Wales) (Amendment) Order 2020

Made	4 February 2020
Laid before the National	
Assembly for Wales	6 February 2020
Coming into force	1 April 2020

The Welsh Ministers make this Order in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 63(1) and (5) of, and paragraphs 1(2) and (3), and 2(1) and (2) of Schedule 7 to, the Environment Act 1995(1), having consulted the councils for every principal area part of which is comprised in the Brecon Beacons National Park in accordance with paragraph 2(3) of Schedule 7 to the Environment Act 1995(2).

Title and commencement

1.—(1) The title of this Order is the National Park Authorities (Wales) (Amendment) Order 2020.

(2) This Order comes into force on 1st April 2020.

Amendment of the National Park Authorities (Wales) Order 1995

2.—(1) The National Park Authorities (Wales) Order 1995 is amended in accordance with the following paragraphs.

(2) In Part 1 of Schedule 2 for-

"Brecon Beacons National Park Authority

Local authority members	16
Secretary of State members	8
Total number of members	24"

^{(1) 1995} c. 25. The powers conferred on the Secretary of State by sections 63(1) and (5) of, and paragraphs 1(2) and (3), and 2(1) and (2) of Schedule 7 to, the Environment Act 1995 (c. 25) were, so far as exercisable in relation to Wales, transferred to the National Assembly for Wales by article 2 of, and Schedule 1 to, the National Assembly for Wales (Transfer of Functions) Order 1999, SI 1999/672. By virtue of section 162 of, and paragraph 30 of Schedule 11 to, the Government of Wales Act 2006 (c. 32), the functions conferred on the National Assembly for Wales are now exercisable by the Welsh Ministers.

⁽²⁾ See section 79(1) for the definition of "principal area".

substitute-

"Brecon Beacons National Park Authority

Local authority members	12
Secretary of State members	6
Total number of members	18"

(3) In Part 2 of Schedule 2 for—

"Brecon Beacons National Park Authority

Council of a principal area	Number of members
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council	1
Carmarthenshire County Council	2
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council	1
Monmouthshire County Council	2
Powys Council	8
Rhondda, Cynon, Taff County Borough Council	1
Torfaen County Borough Council	1"

substitute-

"Brecon Beacons National Park Authority

Council of a principal area	Number of members
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council	1
Carmarthenshire County Council	1
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council	1
Monmouthshire County Council	1
Powys Council	6
Rhondda Cynon Taff County Borough Council	1
Torfaen County Borough Council	1"

Hannah Blythyn Deputy Minister for Housing and Local Government, acting under the authority of the Minister for Housing and Local Government, one of the Welsh Ministers

4 February 2020

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the National Park Authorities (Wales) Order 1995 (S.I. 1995/2803).

Article 3 of this Order amends Parts 1 and 2 of Schedule 2 to that Order so that the membership of the Brecon Beacons National Park Authority decreases from 24 to 18. The total number of members consists of 12 local authority members and 6 members appointed by the Welsh Ministers.

The Welsh Ministers' Code of Practice on the carrying out of regulatory impact assessments was considered in relation to this Order. As a result, it was not considered necessary to carry out a regulatory impact assessment as to the likely costs and benefits of complying with this Order.