WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2012 No. 2676 (W.290)

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, WALES

The Isle of Anglesey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2012

Made---24 October 2012Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales has, in accordance with sections 57(2) and 58(3) of the Local Government Act 1972(1), submitted to the Welsh Ministers a report dated May 2012 on its review of, and proposals for a change in, the electoral arrangements within the county of the Isle of Anglesey(2).

The Welsh Ministers have decided to give effect to those proposals without modifications.

More than six weeks have elapsed since those proposals were submitted to the Welsh Ministers.

The Welsh Ministers make the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred on the Secretary of State by section 58(2) of the Local Government Act 1972 and now vested in them(**3**).

Title, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) The title of this Order is The Isle of Anglesey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2012.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day following the day on which the Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013(4).

(3) In this Order "ordinary day of election for councillors" ("*diwrnod arferol ethol cynghorwyr*") has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(**5**).

 ¹⁹⁷² c. 70. Section 58 was amended by section 40 of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29); paragraph 11 of Schedule 15 to the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c19); and section 168 of the Local Government (Wales) Measure 2011(nawm 4).

⁽²⁾ In 1996 and in accordance with section 74 of the Local Government Act 1972, the name of the county was changed from Anglesey to the Isle of Anglesey by resolution of the county council and with the consent of the Secretary of State under section 74(6). Subsection (6) was repealed by the Statute Law (Repeals) Act 2004 (c. 14), Part 10 of Schedule 1.

⁽³⁾ The powers of the Secretary of State were transferred to the National Assembly for Wales by the National Assembly for Wales (Transfer of Functions) Order 1999 (S.I.1999/672) and are now vested in the Welsh Ministers by virtue of paragraph 30 of Schedule 11 to the Government of Wales Act 2006 (c. 32).

⁽⁴⁾ See S.I 2012/686 (W.94) which provided that the ordinary election of councillors to the Isle of Anglesey County Council would take place in 2013 instead of 2012 and that subsequent ordinary election would take place every four years after 2013.

^{(5) 1983} c. 2. Section 37 was amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29) and section 60 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c. 28).

Electoral divisions of the county of the Isle of Anglesey

2.—(1) The electoral divisions of the county of the Isle of Anglesey are abolished.

(2) The county is divided into eleven electoral divisions each bearing a name listed in column 1 of the Table in the Schedule and each such electoral division comprises the existing areas specified in relation to that electoral division in column 2 of the Table.

(3) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division is the number specified in relation to that electoral division in column 3 of the Table in the Schedule.

Revocation

3. The Borough of Ynys Môn-Isle of Anglesey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1992(6) is revoked.

24 October 2012

Carl Sargeant Minister for Local Government and Communities, one of the Welsh Ministers

⁽⁶⁾ S.I. 1992/2923. This Order came into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1995 and made provision for the electoral arrangements for the new principal council established by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. In 1998 a report of the Commission on a review of electoral arrangements for the county of the Isle of Anglesey proposed no changes to the electoral arrangements; and no order was made under section 58(2) of the Local Government Act 1972. Some consequential changes to electoral divisions in the county were made by S.I.2009/367(W.37).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). Wales Statutory Instruments are not carried in their revised form on this site.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF ELECTORAL DIVISIONS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

Column (1)	Column (2)	Column (3)
Name of electoral division	Area of electoral division	Number of councillors
Aethwy	The Communities of Llanfair Pwllgwyngyll, Menai Bridge and Penmynydd	3
Bro Aberffraw	The Communities of Aberffraw, Bodorgan and Rhosyr	2
Bro Rhosyr	The Communities of Llanidan, Llanfihangel Ysgeifiog, Llanddaniel-fab and Llangristiolus	2
Caergybi	In the Community of Holyhead, the wards of Town, London Road, Morawelon, Porthyfelin and Parc a'r mynydd	3
Canolbarth Môn	The Communities of Bryngwran, Bodffordd, Llangefni and Trewalchmai; and, in the Community of Llanddyfnan, the wards of Llanddyfnan, Llangwyllog and Tregaean	3
Llifon	The Communities of Llanfaelog, Llanfair-yn- neubwll and Valley	2
Lligwy	The Communities of Moelfre, Llaneugrad, Llanfair Mathafarn Eithaf and Pentraeth; and, in the Community of Llanddyfnan, the ward of Llanfihangel Tre'r- beirdd	3
Seiriol	The Communities of Beaumaris, Cwm Cadnant, Llanddona and Llangoed	3
Talybolion	The Communities of Bodedern, Cylch-y- garn, Llannerch-y-medd, Llanfachreth, Llanfaethlu, Mechell and Tref Alaw	3

Column (1)	Column (2)	Column (3)
Name of electoral division	Area of electoral division	Number of councillors
Twrcelyn	The Communities of Amlwch, Llanbadrig, Llaneilian and Rhos-y-bol	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order is made under section 58(2) of the Local Government Act 1972. It gives effect to proposals of the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales ("the Commission") which (following a direction from the Welsh Ministers under section 58(3) of that Act) reported in May 2012 on its review of electoral arrangements for the County of the Isle of Anglesey. The Commission's report proposed a reduction in the size of the Isle of Anglesey County Council from 40 to 30 councillors and a change to the current pattern of electoral divisions being represented by a single member to one of multi-member electoral divisions.

This Order gives effect to the Commission's recommendations without modifications.