EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES



Treaty Series No. 30 (1993)

# Decision

taken by Common Agreement between the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States on the Location of the Seats of the Institutions and of Certain Bodies and Departments of the European Communities with Declarations

Edinburgh, 12 December 1992

[The Decision entered into force on 12 December 1992]

Presented to Parliament by the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs by Command of Her Majesty June 1993

LONDON : HMSO

 $\pounds 1 \cdot 10$  net

Cm 2239

## DECISION TAKEN BY COMMON AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE MEMBER STATES ON THE LOCATION OF THE SEATS OF THE INSTITUTIONS AND OF CERTAIN BODIES AND DEPARTMENTS OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES WITH DECLARATIONS

The Representatives of the Governments of the Member States,

Having regard to Article 216 of the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community<sup>1</sup>, Article 77 of the Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community<sup>1</sup> and Article 189 of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community<sup>1</sup>,

Recalling the Decision of 8 April 1965<sup>2</sup>, and without prejudice to the provisions contained therein concerning the seat of future institutions, bodies and departments,

Hereby decide:

#### Article 1

- (a) The European Parliament shall have its seat in Strasbourg where the twelve periods of monthly plenary sessions, including the budget session, shall be held. The periods of additional plenary sessions shall be held in Brussels. The Committees of the European Parliament shall meet in Brussels. The General Secretariat of the European Parliament and its departments shall remain in Luxembourg.
- (b) The Council shall have its seat in Brussels. During the months of April, June and October, the Council shall hold its meetings in Luxembourg.
- (c) The Commission shall have its seat in Brussels. The departments listed in Articles 7, 8 and 9 of the Decision of 8 April 1965 shall be established in Luxembourg.
- (d) The Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance shall have their seats in Luxembourg.
- (e) The Economic and Social Committee shall have its seat in Brussels.
- (f) The Court of Auditors shall have its seat in Luxembourg.
- (g) The European Investment Bank shall have its seat in Luxembourg.

#### ARTICLE 2

The seat of other bodies and departments set up or to be set up will be decided by common agreement between the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States at a forthcoming European Council, taking account of the advantages of the above provisions to the Member States concerned, and giving appropriate priority to Member States who do not at present provide the sites for Community institutions.

#### ARTICLE 3

This Decision shall enter into force as of today.

Done at Edinburgh on the twelfth day of December in the year one thousand nine hundred and ninety-two.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Treaty Series No. 47 (1988), Cm 455.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Treaty Series No. 1 (1973)-(page 303), Cmnd. 5179-11.

## SIGNATURES

State							Date of signature
Belgium	•••			 	•••	 	12 Dec 1992
Denmark	• • •		• • •	 		 	12 Dec 1992
Germany				 		 	12 Dec 1992
Greece	• • •		•••	 		 	12 Dec 1992
France				 		 	12 Dec 1992
Ireland				 		 	12 Dec 1992
Italy				 • • •		 	12 Dec 1992
Luxembourg				 		 • • •	12 Dec 1992
Netherlands				 		 	12 Dec 1992
Spain	•••					 	12 Dec 1992
Portugal		•••	•••	 • • •		 	12 Dec 1992
United Kingdo	 m	 	•••	 •••		 •••	12 Dec 1992

## ANNEX I

## STATEMENT

The Representatives of the Governments of the Member States declare that, taking into account the Protocol on the Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions annexed to the Treaty establishing the European Community, the Committee of the Regions, having an organizational structure in common with the Economic and Social Committee, shall also have its seat in Brussels.

## ANNEX II

## AGREEMENT ON THE SEATS

## Unilateral Declaration of Luxembourg

"Luxembourg accepts this formula in a spirit of compromise. It is however understood that its acceptance may not be interpreted as constituting a waiver of the provisions and the potentialities of the Decision of 8 April 1965."

## ANNEX III

The Netherlands Government takes it as self-evident that the Decision of 1965, in view of the enlargement of the Community and of its institutions and bodies in the meantime, may never stand in the way of a balanced and equitable distribution of the seats of the institutions and bodies throughout the Member States.

