STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2020 No. 799

# **PUBLIC HEALTH, ENGLAND**

The Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) (Amendment) (No. 3) Regulations 2020

Made	23rd July 2020
Laid before Parliament	24th July 2020
Coming into force	28th July 2020

The Secretary of State makes the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 45B, 45F(2) and 45P(2) of the Public Health (Control of Disease) Act 1984(1).

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

**1.**—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) (Amendment) (No. 3) Regulations 2020.

(2) These Regulations come into force on 28th July 2020.

(3) In these Regulations, "the principal Regulations" means the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020(2).

#### Amendment of the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020

**2.**—(1) The principal Regulations are amended as follows.

(2) In Part 1 of Schedule A1 (exempt countries and territories), insert the following entries at the appropriate place—

"Estonia";

"Latvia";

"Saint Vincent and the Grenadines";

"Slovakia";

"Slovenia".

<sup>(1) 1984</sup> c. 22. Part 2A was inserted by section 129 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (c. 14).

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 2020/568, amended by S.I. 2020/691 and S.I. 2020/724.

### Transitional and saving provision

**3.** In relation to any person who arrived in England on or after 10th July 2020 but before 28th July 2020, the principal Regulations apply as if the amendments made by regulation 2 had not been made.

Signed

23rd July 2020

*Grant Shapps* Secretary of State Department for Transport

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020 (S.I. 2020/568) ("the principal Regulations").

Regulation 2 of these Regulations adds a number of countries and territories to the list of exempt countries and territories in Schedule A1 to the principal Regulations. Passengers are not required to self-isolate on arrival in England if, during the 14 days preceding their arrival, they have only been in or transited through exempt countries or territories. Passengers who have been in or transited through a non-exempt country or territory must self-isolate until 14 days have elapsed since the day after they last left a non-exempt country or territory.

Regulation 3 ensures that these amendments apply only in relation to passengers arriving in England on or after 28th July 2020.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument. An explanatory memorandum has been published alongside this instrument at www.legislation.gov.uk.