#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2020 No. 1094

# **PUBLIC HEALTH, ENGLAND**

The Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) (Amendment) (No. 18) Regulations 2020

Made - - - - 8th October 2020

Laid before Parliament 9th October 2020
at 4.00 a.m. on 10th

Coming into force - - October 2020

The Secretary of State makes the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 45B, 45F(2) and 45P(2) of the Public Health (Control of Disease) Act 1984(1).

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) (Amendment) (No. 18) Regulations 2020 and come into force at 4.00 a.m. on 10th October 2020.
- (2) In these Regulations, "the principal Regulations" means the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020(2).

#### Amendment of the principal Regulations

**2.** In Part 1 of Schedule A1 (exempt countries and territories) to the principal Regulations, for "Lesvos, Tinos, Serifos, Crete, Mykonos, Santorini and Zakynthos" substitute "Crete and Mykonos".

### **Transitional provision**

**3.** In relation to any person who arrived in England on or after 10th July but before 4.00 a.m. on 10th October 2020, the principal Regulations apply as if the amendment made by regulation 2 had not been made.

<sup>(1) 1984</sup> c. 22. Part 2A was inserted by section 129 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (c. 14).

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 2020/568, amended by S.I. 2020/691, 724, 799, 805, 813, 819, 841, 866, 890, 913, 959, 980, 1013, 1039, 1070 and 1076.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Grant Shapps
Secretary of State
Department for Transport

8th October 2020

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020 (S.I. 2020/568) ("the principal Regulations") to add the Greek islands of Lesvos, Tinos, Serifos, Santorini and Zakynthos to the list of exempt countries and territories, in Schedule A1 to the principal Regulations, from which passengers arriving in England are not required to self-isolate.

Passengers are not required to self-isolate on arrival in England if, during the 14 days preceding their arrival, they have only been in or transited through exempt countries or territories, or exempt parts of countries or territories. Passengers who have been in or transited through a non-exempt country or territory, or a non-exempt part of a country or territory, must self-isolate until 14 days have elapsed since the day after they last left a non-exempt country or territory, or a non-exempt part of a country or territory. The changes to Schedule A1 will not affect passengers who arrive in England before 4.00 a.m. on 10th October 2020.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument. An explanatory memorandum has been published alongside this instrument at www.legislation.gov.uk.