STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No. 1313

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

Made - - - 6th December 2018 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated August 2018 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Warwick. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2019.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2018", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the district of Warwick and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Warwick are abolished.
- (2) The district of Warwick is divided into 17 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Kenilworth, Royal Leamington Spa and Warwick

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Kenilworth, Royal Learnington Spa and Warwick are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Kenilworth is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Royal Leamington Spa is divided into the eight parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Warwick is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward
- (6) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

⁽⁴⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/warwickshire/warwick

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

6th December 2018



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3

Names of wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Bishop's Tachbrook	2
Budbrooke	2
Cubbington & Leek Wootton	2
Kenilworth Abbey & Arden	3
Kenilworth Park Hill	3
Kenilworth St John's	3
Leamington Brunswick	3
Leamington Clarendon	3
Leamington Lillington	3
Leamington Milverton	3
Leamington Willes	3
Radford Semele	1
Warwick All Saints & Woodloes	3
Warwick Aylesford	2
Warwick Myton & Heathcote	3
Warwick Saltisford	2
Whitnash	3

SCHEDULE 2 Article 4

Names of parish wards and number of councillors

Table 1
Wards of the parish of Kenilworth

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Abbey	2	
Park Hill	8	
St John's	7	

Table 2
Wards of the parish of Royal Leamington Spa

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Brunswick	3
Clarendon	2
Lillington	3
Lillington Village	1
Maltings	1
Milverton	2
Victoria Park	1
Willes	3

Table 3
Wards of the parish of Warwick

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Aylesford	2	
Castle	1	
Leafield	1	
Myton & Heathcote	4	
Saltisford	2	
Wilmhurst	1	
All Saints & Woodloes	4	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Warwick following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The changes made by this Order apply in respect of local government elections held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the district of Warwick and replaces them with 17 new ones. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards which are consequential to the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/warwickshire/warwick

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.