STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No. 1271

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The South Somerset (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

Made - - - - 30th November 2018 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated May 2018 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of South Somerset. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House of Parliament has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Local Government Boundary Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the South Somerset (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2019.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the South Somerset (Electoral Changes) Order 2018", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of South Somerset and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of South Somerset are abolished.

(2) The district of South Somerset is divided into 35 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

(3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Brympton, Chard Town, Yeovil and Yeovil Without

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Brympton, Chard Town, Yeovil and Yeovil Without are abolished.

(2) The parish of Brympton is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Chard Town is divided into the six parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Yeovil is divided into the eight parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

(5) The parish of Yeovil Without is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.

(6) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(7) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

⁽⁴⁾ Printed copies of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. The map may also be accessed online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-west/somerset/south-somerset

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

30th November 2018



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

Names of wards and numbers of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Blackdown & Tatworth	2
Blackmoor Vale	2
Bruton	1
Brympton	3
Burrow Hill	1
Camelot	1
Cary	2
Chard Avishayes	1
Chard Combe	1
Chard Crimchard	1
Chard Holyrood	1
Chard Jocelyn	1
Coker	2
Crewkerne	3
Curry Rivel, Huish & Langport	2
Eggwood	1
Hamdon	1
Ilminster	2
Islemoor	1
Martock	2
Milborne Port	1
Neroche	1
Northstone, Ivelchester & St Michael's	3
Parrett	1
South Petherton	2
Tower	1
Turn Hill	1
Wessex	2
Wincanton	2
Windwhistle	1

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Yeovil College	3
Yeovil Lyde	2
Yeovil Summerlands	3
Yeovil Westland	3
Yeovil Without	3

SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

Names of parish wards and numbers of councillors

Table 1

Wards of the parish of Brympton

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Abbey Manor North	1
Brympton	11

Table 2

Wards of the parish of Chard Town

(1)	(2)
Name of parish wards	Number of councillors
Chard Avishayes	3
Chard Combe	2
Chard Crimchard	3
Chard Holyrood	3
Chard Jocelyn	3
Shepherd's Lane	1

Table 3

Wards of the parish of Yeovil

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish wards	Number of councillors	
Abbey Manor South	1	
Crofton Park	1	
Grove Avenue	1	
Wyndham Hill	1	
Yeovil College	6	
Yeovil Lyde	4	
Yeovil Summerlands	5	
Yeovil Westland	5	

Table 4

Wards of the parish of Yeovil Without

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish wards	Number of councillors	
Brimsmore	2	
Combe	3	
Lyde	7	
Summerlands	3	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of South Somerset following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district of South Somerset remains unchanged. The changes made by this Order apply in respect of local government elections held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the district of South Somerset and replaces them with 35 new ones. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards which are consequential to the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. The map may also be accessed at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-west/somerset/south-somerset

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.