STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2017 No. 326

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Isles of Scilly (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - 8th March 2017 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2), (3) and (4)

Having conducted a review of the electoral arrangements in the Isles of Scilly under section 56 of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1), and having published recommendations following that review in December 2016 under section 58(4) of that Act, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) makes this Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 59(1) and (2) of that Act.

Further to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946(3), a draft of the Order has been laid before each House of Parliament and a period of forty days has elapsed since the day on which it was laid; neither House has resolved that the Order be not made.

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as The Isles of Scilly (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.
- (2) The provisions of this Order specified in paragraph (3) come into force on the day after the day on which it is made.
 - (3) The provisions specified in this paragraph are—
 - (a) this article; and
 - (b) the remaining provisions of this Order, but only for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors.
- (4) The provisions of this Order specified in paragraph (3)(b) come into force for all purposes other than those described in that paragraph on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales in 2017.
- (5) In this article "the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales" has the meaning given by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983(4).

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c. 20).

^{(3) 1946} c. 36

^{(4) 1983} c. 2; section 37(1) was amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

- (6) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Isles of Scilly (Electoral Changes) Order 2017", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(5).
- (7) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Parishes of the Council of the Isles of Scilly and number of councillors

- **2.**—(1) The existing parishes comprising the Council of the Isles of Scilly(6) are abolished.
- (2) The Council of the Isles of Scilly is divided into 5 parishes as listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
 - (3) Each parish comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected to each parish is the number specified by the entry in the second column of the table in the Schedule which relates to that parish.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

8th March 2017



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

⁽⁵⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/cornwall/isles-of-scilly

⁽⁶⁾ The Council of the Isles of Scilly is a body corporate established by article 4(2) of the Isles of Scilly Order 1978 (S.I. 1978/1844); each of the areas comprising the Isles of Scilly is described as a "parish" by article 3 of that Order.

SCHEDULE Article 2

Names of parishes and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish	Number of councillors	
Bryher	1	
St Agnes	1	
St Martin's	1	
St Mary's	12	
Tresco	1	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the Council of the Isles of Scilly following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area covered by the Council remains unchanged. The changes which article 2 introduces begin to apply to local government elections in 2017.

Article 2 abolishes the existing electoral parishes comprising the Council of the Isles of Scilly and provides that the Scilly Isles is divided into 5 parishes; the Schedule specifies the names of those parishes and the respective number of councillors for each of them.

The area covered by each parish created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/cornwall/isles-of-scilly

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.