STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2017 No. 1269

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The North East Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - 13th December 2017 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated August 2017 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of North East Derbyshire. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation, commencement and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the North East Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2019.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the North East Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2017", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of North East Derbyshire and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of North East Derbyshire are abolished.
- (2) The district of North East Derbyshire is divided into 24 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Dronfield, Eckington, North Wingfield and Wingerworth

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Dronfield, Eckington, North Wingfield and Wingerworth are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Dronfield is divided into the eight parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Eckington is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of North Wingfield is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Wingerworth is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (7) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

⁽⁴⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London, SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https:// www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/north-east-derbyshire

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

13th December 2017



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3

Names of wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Ashover	1
Barlow & Holmesfield	1
Brampton & Walton	2
Clay Cross North	3
Clay Cross South	2
Coal Aston	2
Dronfield North	2
Dronfield South	3
Dronfield Woodhouse	1
Eckington North	2
Eckington South & Renishaw	3
Gosforth Valley	3
Grassmoor	2
Holmewood & Heath	2
Killamarsh East	2
Killamarsh West	3
North Wingfield Central	3
Pilsley & Morton	3
Ridgeway & Marsh Lane	1
Shirland	3
Sutton	2
Tupton	3
Unstone	1
Wingerworth	3

SCHEDULE 2 Article 4

Names of parish wards and number of councillors

Table 1
Wards of the parish of Dronfield

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Bowshaw	1	
Coal Aston	3	
Dronfield North	3	
Dronfield South	5	
Dronfield Woodhouse	1	
Dyche	1	
Gosforth Valley	4	
Summerfield	1	

Table 2
Wards of the parish of Eckington

(1)	(2)	_
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Eckington North	6	
Eckington South	5	
Marsh Lane, Ridgeway & Troway	3	
Renishaw & Spinkhill	3	

Table 3
Wards of the parish of North Wingfield

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Central	4
East	1
West	5

Table 4
Wards of the parish of Wingerworth

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of Councillors
Adlington	2
Hardwick Wood	1
Longedge	1
Wingerworth	9
Woodthorpe	1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of North East Derbyshire following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district of North East Derbyshire remains unchanged. The changes made by this Order apply in respect of local government elections held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the district of North East Derbyshire and replaces them with 24 new ones. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards which are consequential to the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed athttps://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/north-east-derbyshire

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.