STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2017 No. 1080

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Newcastle upon Tyne (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - 8th November 2017 Coming into force in accordance with article 1

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated November 2016 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for Newcastle upon Tyne. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before each House of Parliament, a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Newcastle upon Tyne (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.

- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2018.
- (4) Article 5 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2) as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Newcastle upon Tyne (Electoral Changes) Order 2017", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(**4**).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the city of Newcastle upon Tyne and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the city of Newcastle upon Tyne are abolished.

(2) Newcastle upon Tyne is divided into 26 wards as follows-

- (a) Arthur's Hill;
- (b) Benwell & Scotswood;
- (c) Blakelaw;
- (d) Byker;
- (e) Callerton & Throckley;
- (f) Castle;
- (g) Chapel;
- (h) Dene & South Gosforth;
- (i) Denton & Westerhope;
- (j) Elswick;
- (k) Fawdon & West Gosforth;
- (l) Gosforth;
- (m) Heaton;
- (n) Kenton;
- (o) Kingston Park South & Newbiggin Hall;
- (p) Lemington;
- (q) Manor Park;
- (r) Monument;
- (s) North Jesmond;
- (t) Ouseburn;
- (u) Parklands;
- (v) South Jesmond;
- (w) Walker;
- (x) Walkergate;
- (y) West Fenham;
- (z) Wingrove.

(3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

⁽⁴⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https:// www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/north-east/tyne-and-wear/newcastle-upon-tyne

(4) Three councillors are to be elected for each ward.

Elections of the council of the city of Newcastle upon Tyne

4.—(1) Elections of all councillors for each ward of the city of Newcastle upon Tyne are to be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018.

(2) The councillors holding office for any ward abolished by article 3(1) immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018 are to retire on that fourth day and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on that fourth day.

(3) Of the councillors elected for a ward in 2018, one is to retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019, one on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2020 and one on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022.

(4) Of the councillors elected in 2018—

- (a) the first to retire is to be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and
- (b) the second to retire is to be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.

(5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year is to be determined by lot.

(6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year is to be determined by lot.

(7) An election to replace a councillor who is to retire under paragraph (3) is to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year in which the retirement is due to take place, and any newly elected councillor is to come into office on the fourth day after that day.

(8) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot is to be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing is to be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

Wards of the parish of Woolsington

5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Woolsington are abolished.

(2) The parish of Woolsington is divided into four parish wards, namely-

- (a) Bedeburn, which is to have four parish councillors;
- (b) Callerton, which is to have one parish councillor;
- (c) Newbiggin Hall, which is to have five parish councillors; and
- (d) Woolsington & Bank Foot, which is to have two parish councillors.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

8th November 2017



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the city of Newcastle upon Tyne following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the city remains unchanged.

The changes which articles 3 and 4 introduce begin to apply to local government elections in 2018. Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards comprising the area covered by the city of Newcastle upon Tyne and provides that Newcastle upon Tyne is divided into 26 wards and names each of them. Each of those wards is represented by three councillors. Article 4 makes provision for the means by which councillors are to retire

Article 5 makes provision in respect of one parish which is consequential to certain of the changes introduced by article 3, and applies to local government elections in 2019.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.