STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2016 No. 659

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Nottinghamshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Made - - - 20th June 2016 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2), (3) and (4)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated November 2015 stating its recommendation for changes to the electoral arrangements for the county of Nottinghamshire. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Nottinghamshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after this Order is made.
- (3) Article 3 and Schedule 1 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2017.
- (4) The remainder of this Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 c.2.

Interpretation

2. In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Nottinghamshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

Divisions of the county of Nottinghamshire and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing divisions of the county of Nottinghamshire are abolished.
- (2) The county of Nottinghamshire is divided into 56 divisions as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each division comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the division.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each division is the number specified in relation to that division in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Balderton and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Balderton are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Balderton is divided into four parish wards as listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Newark and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Newark are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Newark is divided into eight parish wards as listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

20th June 2016



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3 Names of county divisions and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
	Number of councillors
Ashfields 1	
Arnold North 2	
Arnold South 2	
Balderton 1	
Beeston Central & Rylands 1	
Bingham East 1	
Bingham West 1	
Blidworth 1	
Blyth & Harworth 1	
Bramcote & Beeston North 1	
Calverton 1	
Carlton East 1	
Carlton West 2	
Collingham 1	
Cotgrave 1	
Eastwood 1	
Farndon & Trent 1	
Greasley & Brinsley 1	
Hucknall North 1	
Hucknall South 1	
Hucknall West 1	
Keyworth 1	
Kirkby North 1	

(1)	(2)
Name of county division	Number of councillors
Kirkby South	1
Leake & Ruddington	2
Mansfield East	2
Mansfield North	2
Mansfield South	2
Mansfield West	2
Misterton	1
Muskham & Farnsfield	1
Newark East	1
Newark West	1
Newstead	1
Nuthall & Kimberley	1
Ollerton	1
Radcliffe on Trent	1
Retford East	1
Retford West	1
Selston	1
Sherwood Forest	1
Southwell	1
Stapleford & Broxtowe Central	2
Sutton Central & East	1
Sutton North	1
Sutton West	1
Toton, Chilwell & Attenborough	2
Tuxford	1

Articles 4 to 5

(1)	(2)
Name of county division	Number of councillors
Warsop	1
West Bridgford North	1
West Bridgford South	1
West Bridgford West	1
Worksop East	1
Worksop North	1
Worksop South	1
Worksop West	1

SCHEDULE 2

Names of parish wards and number of councillors

Table 1
Wards of the parish of Balderton

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Balderton Milton	1
Balderton North	4
Balderton Rowan	3
Balderton South	7

Table 2 Wards of the parish of Newark

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Beacon	4
Bridge	3

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Castle	2	
Devon	5	
Newark East	1	
Newark South	1	
Magnus	1	
Sleaford	1	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the county of Nottinghamshire following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the county remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017.

Article 3 abolishes the existing divisions of the county of Nottinghamshire and replaces them with 56 new ones. That article and the map (as defined in article 2) also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new divisions.

Articles 4 to 5 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Balderton and (ii) Newark respectively and replace them with new ones. Those articles and the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new county divisions and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/nottinghamshire-county-council. The map is also available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.