#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2016 No. 1236

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Rother (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Made - - - 15th December 2016 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Having conducted a review of the electoral arrangements in the district of Rother under section 56 of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1), and having published recommendations following that review in September 2016 under section 58(4) of that Act, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) makes this Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 59(1) and (2) of that Act.

Further to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946(3), a draft of the Order has been laid before each House of Parliament and a period of forty days has elapsed since the day on which it was laid; neither House has resolved that the Order be not made.

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Rother (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.
- (2) This article comes into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) The remainder of this Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2018;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales in 2019.
- (4) In this article "the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales" has the meaning given by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983(4).
- (5) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Rother (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(5).

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c. 20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

<sup>(3) 1946</sup> c. 36.

<sup>(4) 1983</sup> c. 2; section 37(1) was amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

<sup>5)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/\_data/assets/pdf\_file/0006/29850/Rother-Final-Recommendations-Updated-Map.pdf.

(6) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the district of Rother and number of councillors

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Rother are abolished.
- (2) The district of Rother is divided into 21 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
  - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected to each ward is the number specified by the entry in the second column of the table in Schedule 1 which relates to that ward.

#### Wards of the parishes of Battle, Guestling and Icklesham

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Battle, Guestling and Icklesham are abolished.
- (2) Each of the parishes mentioned in paragraph 1 is divided into the parish wards listed in the entries in the second column of the table in Schedule 2 which relate to that parish.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected to each parish ward is the number specified by the entry in the third column of the table in Schedule 2 which relates to that parish ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

15th December 2016



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE 1 Article 2 Names of district wards and number of councillors

| (1)                                     | (2)                   |
|---|-----------------------|
| Name of ward                            | Number of councillors |
| Bexhill Central                         | 2                     |
| Bexhill Collington                      | 2                     |
| Bexhill Kewhurst                        | 2                     |
| Bexhill Old Town & Worsham              | 2                     |
| Bexhill Pebsham & St Michaels           | 2                     |
| Bexhill Sackville                       | 2                     |
| Bexhill Sidley                          | 2                     |
| Bexhill St Marks                        | 2                     |
| Bexhill St Stephens                     | 2                     |
| Brede & Udimore                         | 1                     |
| Burwash & the Weald                     | 2                     |
| Catsfield & Crowhurst                   | 1                     |
| Eastern Rother                          | 2                     |
| Hurst Green & Ticehurst                 | 2                     |
| North Battle, Netherfield & Whatlington | 2                     |
| Northern Rother                         | 2                     |
| Robertsbridge                           | 1                     |
| Rye & Winchelsea                        | 2                     |
| Sedlescombe & Westfield                 | 2                     |
| South Battle & Telham                   | 1                     |
| Southern Rother                         | 2                     |

SCHEDULE 2 Article 3 Names of parish wards and number of councillors

| (1)            | (2)                 | (3)                   |
|----------------|---------------------|-----------------------|
| Name of parish | Name of parish ward | Number of councillors |
| Battle         | Battle North        | 11                    |
| Battle         | Battle South        | 6                     |
| Guestling      | Guestling Green     | 4                     |
|                | 3                   |                       |

| (1)            | (2)                  | (3)                   |
|----------------|----------------------|-----------------------|
| Name of parish | Name of parish ward  | Number of councillors |
| Guestling      | Guestling Three Oaks | 5                     |
| Icklesham      | Icklesham            | 5                     |
| Icklesham      | Rye Harbour          | 6                     |
| Icklesham      | Winchelsea           | 2                     |

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Rother following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The changes which articles 2 and 3 introduce begin to apply to local government elections in 2019.

Article 2 abolishes the existing electoral wards comprising the district of Rother and provides that Rother is divided into 21 wards; Schedule 1 specifies the names of those wards and the respective number of councillors for each of them.

Article 3 and Schedule 2 make provision in respect of parish wards which is consequential to the changes introduced by article 2.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at .

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.