STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2015 No. 77

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 2015

Made - - - - 27th January 2015

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated July 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Erewash. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 2015.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 2015", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

Wards of the district of Erewash and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Erewash are abolished.
- (2) The district of Erewash is divided into 19 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Sandiacre and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Sandiacre are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Sandiacre is divided into four parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) Sandiacre North;
 - (b) Sandiacre South;
 - (c) Sandiacre West;
 - (d) Springfield Park.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
 - (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for Sandiacre North parish ward.
 - (5) Five councillors are to be elected for Sandiacre South parish ward.
 - (6) One councillor is to be elected for each of Sandiacre West and Springfield Park parish wards.

Wards of the parish of Stanley & Stanley Common and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The parish of Stanley & Stanley Common is divided into two parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) Stanley Common;
 - (b) Stanley Village.
- (2) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
 - (3) Six councillors are to be elected for Stanley Common parish ward.
 - (4) Four councillors are to be elected for Stanley Village parish ward.

^{(3) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 27th day of January 2015

27th January 2015



Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

SCHEDULE Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Awsworth Road	2	
Breaston	2	
Cotmanhay	2	
Derby Road East	2	
Derby Road West	3	
Draycott & Risley	2	
Hallam Fields	2	
Kirk Hallam & Stanton-by-Dale	3	
Larklands	3	
Little Eaton & Stanley	2	
Little Hallam	2	
Long Eaton Central	3	
Nottingham Road	2	
Ockbrook & Borrowash	3	
Sandiacre	3	
Sawley	3	
Shipley View	2	
West Hallam & Dale Abbey	3	
Wilsthorpe	3	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Erewash, which is a non-metropolitan district with borough status, following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Erewash and replaces them with 19 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Article 4 abolishes the existing wards of the parishes of Sandiacre and replaces them with new ones. Article 5 creates wards in the parish of Stanley & Stanley Common, which was formerly unwarded. Those articles and the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/erewash-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Erewash Borough Council, Town Hall, Derby Road, Long Eaton, NG10 1HU and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.