### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2015 No. 2028

# POLICE, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Police and Crime Commissioner Elections (Designation of Local Authorities) Order 2015

 Made
 14th December 2015

 Coming into force
 5th May 2016

The Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, in exercise of the power conferred by section 75(1) of the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011(1), makes the following Order:

### Citation, commencement, and interpretation

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Police and Crime Commissioner Elections (Designation of Local Authorities) Order 2015.
  - (2) It comes into force on 5th May 2016.
- (3) In this Order "police area" means a police area listed in Schedule 1 to the Police Act 1996 (police areas outside London)(2).

### **Designation of local authorities**

- **2.**—(1) This article designates for the purposes of section 75(1) of the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011 (appropriate officers) a local authority for each police area in England listed in the table in Schedule 1 and a local authority for each police area in Wales listed in the table in Schedule 2.
- (2) In respect of a police area in England listed in the left-hand column of the table in Schedule 1, the designated local authority is the corresponding local authority listed in the right-hand column.
- (3) In respect of a police area in Wales listed in the left-hand column of the table in Schedule 2, the designated local authority is the corresponding local authority listed in the right-hand column.

 <sup>2011</sup> c. 13; powers conferred on the Secretary of State under section 75(1) are exercisable concurrently with the Chancellor
of the Duchy of Lancaster by virtue of S.I. 2015/1526.

<sup>(2) 1996</sup> c. 16; Schedule 1 has been amended by section 129 of the Police Act 1997 (c. 50) and by S.I. 1997/1844; S.I. 1997/1845; S.I. 1997/1846; S.I. 1997/1847; S.I. 1997/1849; S.I. 1997/1850; S.I. 1997/1855; S.I. 1997/1857; and S.I. 2009/119.

### Revocation

**3.** The Police and Crime Commissioner Elections (Designation of Local Authorities) (No. 2) Order 2012(3) is revoked.

Signed by the authority of the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

John Penrose
Minister of State
Cabinet Office

14th December 2015

## SCHEDULE 1

article 2(1) and (2)

# Local authority for the listed police areas in England

## **Table**

Police area	Local authority
Avon & Somerset	Bath & North East Somerset Council
Bedfordshire	Luton Borough Council
Cambridgeshire	East Cambridgeshire District Council
Cheshire	Halton Borough Council
Cleveland	Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council
Cumbria	South Lakeland District Council
Derbyshire	Derby City Council
Devon and Cornwall	Exeter City Council
Dorset	Borough of Poole
Durham	Durham County Council
Essex	Colchester Borough Council
Gloucestershire	Stroud District Council
Greater Manchester	Manchester City Council
Hampshire	Southampton City Council
Hertfordshire	Hertsmere Borough Council
Humberside	East Riding of Yorkshire Council
Kent	Dover District Council
Lancashire	Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council
Leicestershire	North West Leicestershire District Council
Lincolnshire	City of Lincoln Council
Merseyside	Liverpool City Council
Norfolk	Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk
Northamptonshire	Kettering Borough Council
Northumbria	Sunderland City Council
North Yorkshire	Ryedale Borough Council
Nottinghamshire	Rushcliffe Borough Council
South Yorkshire	Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
Staffordshire	Stoke-on-Trent City Council
Suffolk	Suffolk Coastal District Council
Surrey	Reigate & Banstead Borough Council

Police area	Local authority
Sussex	Wealden District Council
Thames Valley	Vale of White Horse District Council
Warwickshire	Stratford-on-Avon District Council
West Mercia	Shropshire Council
West Midlands	Birmingham City Council
West Yorkshire	Wakefield Council
Wiltshire	Swindon Borough Council

### SCHEDULE 2

article 2(1) and (3)

### Local authority for the listed police areas in Wales

#### **Table**

Police area	Local authority
Dyfed-Powys	Carmarthenshire County Council
Gwent	Newport City Council
North Wales	Flintshire County Council
South Wales	City of Cardiff Council

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates for the purposes of section 75(1) of the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011 (c. 13) ("the Act") a local authority for the police areas in England listed in Schedule 1 and the police areas in Wales listed in Schedule. The head of paid service of a designated local authority is the "appropriate officer" for the purposes of Chapter 6 of Part 1 of the Act (elections and vacancies of police and crime commissioners).

Article 3 revokes the Police and Crime Commissioner Elections (Designations of Local Authorities) (No. 2) Order 2012 (S.I. 2012/2084).

An impact assessment has not been prepared for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sector is foreseen.