### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2015 No. 112

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Ashfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2015

*Made - - - - 2nd February 2015* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated November 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Ashfield. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Ashfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2015.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Ashfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2015", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

#### Wards of the district of Ashfield and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Ashfield are abolished.
- (2) The district of Ashfield is divided into 23 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

## Wards of the parish of Annesley, the parish of Felley and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The parish of Annesley is divided into two parish wards named respectively—
  - (a) Annesley;
  - (b) Toll Bar.
- (2) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
  - (3) Ten councillors are to be elected for Annesley parish ward.
  - (4) Two councillors are to be elected for Toll Bar parish ward.
  - (5) One councillor is to be elected for Felley parish.

## Wards of the parish of Selston and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Selston are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Selston is divided into three parish wards named respectively—
  - (a) Jacksdale;
  - (b) Selston;
  - (c) Underwood.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
  - (4) Six councillors are to be elected for Jacksdale parish ward.
  - (5) Ten councillors are to be elected for Selston parish ward.
  - (6) Five councillors are to be elected for Underwood parish ward.

<sup>(3) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 2nd day of February 2015

2nd February 2015



Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

SCHEDULE Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Abbey Hill	1
Annesley & Kirkby Woodhouse	2
Ashfields	1
Carsic	1
Central & New Cross	2
Hucknall Central	2
Hucknall North	3
Hucknall South	2
Hucknall West	3
Huthwaite & Brierley	2
Jacksdale	1
Kingsway	1
Kirkby Cross & Portland	1
Larwood	1
Leamington	1
Selston	2
Skegby	2
St Mary's	1
Stanton Hill & Teversal	1
Summit	2
Sutton Junction & Harlow Wood	1
The Dales	1
Underwood	1

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Ashfield following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Ashfield and replaces them with 23 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

The parishes of Annesley and Felley have a common parish council, Annesley & Felley Parish Council. Article 4 creates wards in the parish of Annesley, which was formerly unwarded. That article also (i) with the map, establishes the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards, and (ii) establishes the number of councillors to be elected for Felley parish, which remains unwarded.

Article 5 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Selston and replaces them with new ones. That article and the map establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/ashfield-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Ashfield District Council, Urban Road, Kirkby-in-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire NG17 8DA and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.