STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No. 455

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Lancaster (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made--27th February 2014Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) published a report dated October 2013 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Lancaster. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

- 1. (1) This Order may be cited as the Lancaster (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Lancaster (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

Wards of the district of Lancaster and number of councillors

3. (1) The existing wards of the district of Lancaster are abolished.

(2) The district of Lancaster is divided into 27 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of Schedule 1.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of Schedule 1.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Parish wards and number of councillors

4. (1) The existing wards of the following parishes are abolished—

- (a) Ellel;
- (b) Heaton-with-Oxcliffe;
- (c) Morecambe;
- (d) Warton.

(2) The parish of Ellel is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the first table in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Heaton-with-Oxcliffe is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the second table in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Morecambe is divided into 11 parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the third table in Schedule 2.

(5) The parish of Warton is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fourth table in Schedule 2.

(6) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(7) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of each table in Schedule 2.

^{(3) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 27th day of February 2014

27th February 2014



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
<i>Name of district ward</i> Bare	Number of councillors 3
Bolton & Slyne	3
Bulk	3
	3
Carnforth & Millhead	
Castle	2
Ellel	2
Halton-with-Aughton	1
Harbour	3
Heysham Central	2
Heysham North	2
Heysham South	3
John O'Gaunt	3
Kellet	1
Lower Lune Valley	2
Marsh	2
Overton	1
Poulton	2
Scotforth East	2
Scotforth West	3
Silverdale	1
Skerton East	3
Skerton West	3
Torrisholme	2
University & Scotforth Rural	3
Upper Lune Valley	1
Warton	1
Westgate	3

SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

Table 1

Ellel

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
North	3
South	2
University East	1
University West	3

Table 2

Heaton-with-Oxcliffe

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Roeburn Drive	2
Rural	1
Westgate	3
Winster Park	1

Table 3

Morecambe

(1) Name of parish ward	(2) Number of councillors
Bare North	3
Bare South East	1
Bare South West	1
Harbour	5
Heysham North	3
Lowlands Road	1
Lune Drive	1
Out Moss Lane	1
Poulton	3
Torrisholme	3
Westgate	4

Table 4

Warton

(1) Name of parish ward	(2) Number of councillors
Millhead	2
Warton	6

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Lancaster following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Lancaster and replaces them with 27 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Article 4 replaces the existing wards of the parishes of Ellel, Heaton-with-Oxcliffe, Morecambe and Warton. That article, the map and Schedule 2 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-west/lancashire/lancaster-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Lancaster City Council at Dalton Square, Lancaster, Lancashire LA1 1PJ and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.