## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2014 No. 3288

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The South Ribble (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

*Made - - - 2nd December 2014* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated May 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of South Ribble. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

#### Citation and commencement

- 1. (1) This Order may be cited as the South Ribble (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the South Ribble (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

#### Wards of the district of South Ribble and number of councillors

- **3.** (1) The existing wards of the district of South Ribble are abolished.
- (2) The district of South Ribble is divided into 23 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

## Wards of the parish of Farington and number of councillors

- **4.** (1) The existing wards of the parish of Farington are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Farington is divided into three parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

#### Wards of the parish of Hutton and number of councillors

- **5.** (1) The existing wards of the parish of Hutton are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Hutton is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

## Wards of the parish of Longton and number of councillors

- **6.** (1) The existing wards of the parish of Longton are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Longton is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

<sup>(3) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

## Wards of the parish of Penwortham and number of councillors

- 7. (1) The existing wards of the parish of Penwortham are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Penwortham is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 4 in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

2nd December 2014



Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Bamber Bridge East	2
Bamber Bridge West	2
Broad Oak	2
Broadfield	2
Buckshaw & Worden	2
Charnock	2
Coupe Green & Gregson Lane	2
Earnshaw Bridge	2
Farington East	2
Farington West	2
Hoole	2
Howick & Priory	3
Leyland Central	2
Longton & Hutton West	3
Lostock Hall	3
Middleforth	3
Moss Side	2
New Longton & Hutton East	2
St Ambrose	2
Samlesbury & Walton	2
Seven Stars	2
Walton-le-Dale East	2
Walton-le-Dale West	2

## SCHEDULE 2

Articles 4 to 7

Table 1
Wards of the parish of Farington and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Farington Central	4
Farington East	3
Farington West	1

Table 2
Wards of the parish of Hutton and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Hutton East	3
Hutton West	4

Table 3

Wards of the parish of Longton and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Longton East	4
Longton West	8

Table 4
Wards of the parish of Penwortham and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Broad Oak	4	
Charnock	4	
Howick & Priory	5	
Middleforth	5	

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of South Ribble, which is a non-metropolitan district with borough status, following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of South Ribble and replaces them with 23 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Articles 4 to 7 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Farington, (ii) Hutton, (iii) Longton and (iv) Penwortham and replace them with new ones. Those articles, the map and Schedule 2 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at [insert link]. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of South Ribble Borough Council, Civic Centre, West Paddock, Leyland, Lancashire PR25 1DH and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.