#### 2014 No. 18

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

# The Bromsgrove (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made - - - 8th January 2014

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(a) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) published a report dated June 2013 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Bromsgrove. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Bromsgrove (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Bromsgrove (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(c).

<sup>(</sup>a) 2009 c.20.

<sup>(</sup>b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

<sup>(</sup>c) 1983 c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

#### Wards of the district of Bromsgrove and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Bromsgrove are abolished.
- (2) The district of Bromsgrove is divided into 30 district wards, each listed by name in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) With the exception of Belbroughton & Romsley ward, one councillor is to be elected for each district ward.
  - (5) Two councillors are to be elected for Belbroughton & Romsley ward.
- (6) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Parish wards and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the following parishes are abolished—
  - (a) Catshill and North Marlbrook;
  - (b) Lickey and Blackwell;
  - (c) Stoke;
  - (d) Wythall.
- (2) The parish of Alvechurch is divided into three parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the first table in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Catshill and North Marlbrook is divided into three parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the second table in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Clent is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the third table in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Hagley is divided into three parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fourth table in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Lickey and Blackwell is divided into five parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fifth table in Schedule 2.
- (7) The parish of Stoke is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the sixth table in Schedule 2.
- (8) The parish of Wythall is divided into six parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the seventh table in Schedule 2.
- (9) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (10) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of each table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 8th day of January 2014



8th January 2014

Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

#### Names of district wards

Alvechurch South

Alvechurch Village

Aston Fields

Avoncroft

Barnt Green & Hopwood

Belbroughton & Romsley

Bromsgrove Central

Catshill North

Catshill South

Charford

Cofton

**Drakes Cross** 

**Hagley East** 

Hagley West

Hill Top

Hollywood

Lickey Hills

Lowes Hill

Marlbrook

Norton

Perryfields

Rock Hill

Rubery North

**Rubery South** 

Sanders Park

Sidemoor

Slideslow

Tardebigge

Wythall East

Wythall West

SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

Table 1

Alvechurch

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Alvechurch Village	7	
Hopwood	2	
Rowney Green & Bordesley	3	
·		

## Table 2

#### **Catshill and North Marlbrook**

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Barley Meadow	8
Lower Marlbrook	2
Woodrow	3

## Table 3

#### Clent

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Clent East	4
Clent West	5

#### Table 4

## Hagley

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Hagley East	6	
Hagley South	1	
Hagley West	6	

## Table 5

## Lickey and Blackwell

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Lickey	1	
Lickey Grange	2	
Lickey Monument	1	
Linthurst	3	
Shepley	2	

## Table 6

#### Stoke

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Stoke Heath	4
Stoke Prior	8

# Table 7 Wythall

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Drakes Cross	4	
Grimes Hill	2	
Headley Heath	1	
Hollywood	4	
Trueman's Heath	2	
Wythall Heath	2	

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Bromsgrove following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Bromsgrove and replaces them with 30 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Article 4 replaces the existing wards of the parishes of Catshill and North Marlbrook, Lickey and Blackwell, Stoke, and Wythall and establishes wards in the parishes of Alvechurch, Clent and Hagley which were formerly unwarded. That article, the map and Schedule 2 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors for each of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/worcestershire/bromsgrove-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the office of Bromsgrove District Council, The Council House, Burcot Lane, Bromsgrove, B60 1AA and at the office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 78 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

<sup>©</sup> Crown copyright 2014

£4.00

UK201401101001 01/2014 19585

Q | 720111 | 102178

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2014/18