STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No. 1189

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The East Lindsey (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made--7th May 2014Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) published a report dated November 2013 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of East Lindsey. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

- 1. (1) This Order may be cited as the East Lindsey (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the East Lindsey (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

Wards of the district of East Lindsey and number of councillors

3. (1) The existing wards of the district of East Lindsey are abolished.

(2) The district of East Lindsey is divided into 37 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the Schedule.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Louth and number of councillors

4. (1) The existing wards of the parish of Louth are abolished.

- (2) The parish is divided into seven parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) North Holme;
 - (b) Priory;
 - (c) St James';
 - (d) St Margaret's;
 - (e) St Mary's;
 - (f) St Michael's;
 - (g) Trinity.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) Three councillors are to be elected for each parish ward.

Wards of the parish of Mablethorpe and Sutton and number of councillors

5. (1) The existing wards of the parish of Mablethorpe and Sutton are abolished.

(2) The parish is divided into seven parish wards named respectively—

- (a) Highgate Lane;
- (b) Mablethorpe Central;
- (c) Mablethorpe East;
- (d) Mablethorpe North;
- (e) Sutton on Sea North;
- (f) Sutton on Sea South;
- (g) Trusthorpe & Mablethorpe South.

^{(3) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) With the exception of Highgate Lane parish ward, three councillors are to be elected for each parish ward.

(5) One councillor is to be elected for Highgate Lane parish ward.

Wards of the parish of Skegness and number of councillors

6. (1) The existing wards of the parish of Skegness are abolished.

- (2) The parish is divided into five parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) Brunswick Drive;
 - (b) St Clement's;
 - (c) Scarbrough;
 - (d) Seacroft;
 - (e) Winthorpe.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) With the exception of Brunswick Drive parish ward, five councillors are to be elected for each parish ward.

(5) One councillor is to be elected for Brunswick Drive parish ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 27th day of May 2014

7th May 2014

Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England **Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Alford	2
Binbrook	1
Burgh le Marsh	1
Chapel St Leonards	2
Coningsby & Mareham	3
Croft	1
Friskney	1
Fulstow	1
Grimoldby	1
Hagworthingham	1
Halton Holegate	1
Holton-le-Clay & North Thoresby	2
Horncastle	3
Ingoldmells	1
Legbourne	1
Mablethorpe	3
Marshchapel & Somercotes	2
North Holme	1
Priory & St James'	2
Roughton	1
Scarbrough & Seacroft	3
Sibsey & Stickney	2
Spilsby	1
St Clement's	2
St Margaret's	1
St Mary's	1
St Michael's	1
Sutton on Sea	2
Tetford & Donington	1
Tetney	1

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Trinity	1	
Wainfleet	1	
Willoughby with Sloothby	1	
Winthorpe	2	
Withern & Theddlethorpe	1	
Woodhall Spa	2	
Wragby	1	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of East Lindsey following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of East Lindsey and replaces them with 37 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Articles 4 to 6 replace the existing wards of the parishes of Louth, Mablethorpe and Sutton, and Skegness respectively. Those articles and the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/east-midlands/lincolnshire/east-lindsey-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of East Lindsey District Council at Tedder Hall, Manby Park, Louth, Lincolnshire LN11 8UP and at the office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.