STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2013 No. 2797

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Rushcliffe (Electoral Changes) Order 2013

Made---30th October 2013Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) published a report dated February 2013 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district(3) of Rushcliffe. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and Commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Rushcliffe (Electoral Changes) Order 2013.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Rushcliffe (Electoral Changes) Order 2013", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

⁽**1**) 2009 c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

⁽³⁾ The non-metropolitan district of Rushcliffe has the status of a borough.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(4).

Wards of the district of Rushcliffe and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Rushcliffe are abolished.

(2) The district is divided into 25 wards, each listed by name in the first column of the Schedule.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographic feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Bingham and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Bingham are abolished.

- (2) The parish is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Bingham East;
 - (b) Bingham West.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for each of Bingham East ward and Bingham West ward.

Wards of the parish of Holme Pierrepont and number of councillors

- 5.—(1) The parish of Holme Pierrepont is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Adbolton;
 - (b) Holme Pierrepont.
- (2) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (3) One councillor is to be elected for Adbolton ward.
- (4) Two councillors are to be elected for Holme Pierrepont ward.

Wards of the parish of Langar cum Barnstone and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The parish of Langar cum Barnstone is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Barnstone;
 - (b) Langar.
- (2) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (3) Four councillors are to be elected for Barnstone ward.
- (4) Five councillors are to be elected for Langar ward.

^{(4) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). UK Statutory Instruments are not carried in their revised form on this site.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 30th day of October 2013

30th October 2013



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). UK Statutory Instruments are not carried in their revised form on this site.

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Abbey	2
Bingham East	2
Bingham West	2
Bunny	1
Compton Acres	2
Cotgrave	3
Cranmer	1
Cropwell	1
East Bridgford	1
Edwalton	2
Gamston North	1
Gamston South	1
Gotham	1
Keyworth & Wolds	3
Lady Bay	2
Leake	3
Lutterell	2
Musters	2
Nevile & Langar	1
Radcliffe on Trent	3
Ruddington	3
Sutton Bonington	1
Thoroton	1
Tollerton	1
Trent Bridge	2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Rushcliffe following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Rushcliffe and replaces them with 25 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

Article 4 replaces the existing wards of the parish of Bingham and articles 5 and 6 establish wards in the parishes of (i) Holme Pierrepont and (ii) Langar cum Barnstone respectively, which were formerly unwarded. Those articles and the map establish the names, areas and number of councillors for each ward.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/rushcliffefer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Rushcliffe Borough Council, Civic Centre, Pavilion Road, West Bridgford Nottingham, NG2 5FE, and at the office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

> An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.