## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2013 No. 2794

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Arun (Electoral Changes) Order 2013

Made - - - 30th October 2013 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) published a report dated February 2013 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Arun. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

### Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Arun (Electoral Changes) Order 2013.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Arun (Electoral Changes) Order 2013", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

#### Wards of the district of Arun and number of councillors

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Arun are abolished.

(2) The district is divided into 23 wards, each listed by name in the first column of Schedule 1.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of Schedule 1.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Parish wards and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the following parishes are abolished—

- (a) Aldwick;
- (b) Bersted;
- (c) Bognor Regis;
- (d) Felpham;
- (e) Littlehampton.

(2) The parish of Aldingbourne is divided into two wards, each listed by name in the first column of the first table in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Aldwick is divided into four wards, each listed by name in the first column of the second table in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Angmering is divided into two wards, each listed by name in the first column of the third table in Schedule 2.

(5) The parish of Bersted is divided into three wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fourth table in Schedule 2.

(6) The parish of Bognor Regis is divided into six wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fifth table in Schedule 2.

(7) The parish of Eastergate is divided into two wards, each listed by name in the first column of the sixth table in Schedule 2.

(8) The parish of Felpham is divided into two wards, each listed by name in the first column of the seventh table in Schedule 2.

(9) The parish of Littlehampton is divided into eight wards, each listed by name in the first column of the eighth table in Schedule 2.

(10) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(11) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of each table in Schedule 2.

<sup>(3) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). UK Statutory Instruments are not carried in their revised form on this site.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 30th day of October 2013

30th October 2013



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). UK Statutory Instruments are not carried in their revised form on this site.

### SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

# Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Aldwick East	2	
Aldwick West	2	
Angmering & Findon	3	
Arundel & Walberton	3	
Barnham	3	
Beach	2	
Bersted	3	
Brookfield	2	
Courtwick with Toddington	3	
East Preston	3	
Felpham East	2	
Felpham West	2	
Ferring	2	
Hotham	2	
Marine	2	
Middleton-on-Sea	2	
Orchard	2	
Pagham	2	
Pevensey	2	
River	3	
Rustington East	2	
Rustington West	3	
Yapton	2	

	SCHEDULE 2	Article 4
	Table 1	
	Aldingbourne	
(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Aldingbourne & Westergate	9	
Racecourse	1	
	Table 2	
	Aldwick	
(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Aldwick East	6	
Aldwick West	5	
Barrack Lane	1	
St Richard's	2	
	Table 3	
	Angmering	
(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Angmering Village	11	
South Angmering	2	
	Table 4	
	Bersted	
(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Bersted Brooks	2	
Bersted Green	1	
Bersted North	11	

## Table 5

## **Bognor Regis**

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Hatherleigh	1
Hotham	4
Marine	3
Marine North	1
Orchard	4
Pevensey	3

### Table 6

### Eastergate

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Eastergate and West Barnham	8	
Fontwell	1	
Table 7		
Felpham		
(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Felpham East	8	
Felpham West	8	

## Table 8

# Littlehampton

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Beach	3
Brookfield	2
Cornfield	1
Courtwick with Toddington	2

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Elm Grove	1
Ham	2
River	3
Wick	1

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Arun following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Arun and replaces them with 23 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Article 4 replaces the existing wards of the parishes of Aldwick, Bersted, Bognor Regis, Felpham and Littlehampton and establishes wards in the parishes of Aldingbourne, Angmering and Eastergate which were formerly unwarded. That article, the map and Schedule 2 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors for each new parish ward.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/west-sussex/arunfer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of the district of Arun Council, Civic Centre, Maltravers Road, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5LF and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

> An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.