STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2013 No. 1626

CORONERS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Alteration of Coroner Areas) Order 2013

| Made | 2nd July 2013 |
|------------------------|----------------|
| Laid before Parliament | 4th July 2013 |
| Coming into force | 26th July 2013 |

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred by paragraph 2 of Schedule 2 to the Coroners and Justice Act 2009(1) and after consulting in accordance with that paragraph, makes the following Order.

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Alteration of Coroner Areas) Order 2013(**2**).

2. This Order comes into force on the 26th July 2013.

Interpretation

3. In this Order—

"coroner area" means a coroner area constituted by the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Coroner Areas and Assistant Coroners) Transitional Order 2013;

"altered coroner area" means a new coroner area resulting from the amalgamation of coroner areas as set out in this Order.

Altered coroner areas

4. Coroner areas listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule to this Order shall be amalgamated into the single coroner area listed in the corresponding entry in the second column.

^{(1) 2009} c. 25.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 2013/1625.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). UK Statutory Instruments are not carried in their revised form on this site.

Signed by the authority of the Lord Chancellor

Helen Grant Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Ministry of Justice

2nd July 2013

SCHEDULE

Article 4

| Coroner areas to be amalgamated | Altered coroner area |
|--|---|
| Carmarthenshire/ Sir Gaerfyrddin Pembrokeshire / Sir Benfro | Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire / Sir Gaerfyrddin a Sir Benfro |
| 1. Darlington and South Durham | County Durham and Darlington |
| 2. North Durham | |
| 1. Derby and South Derbyshire | Derby and Derbyshire |
| 2. North Derbyshire | |
| 1. Bournemouth, Poole and Eastern Dorset | Dorset |
| 2. Western Dorset | |
| 1. Essex and Thurrock | Essex |
| 2. Southend and South East Essex | |
| 1. Plymouth and South West Devon | Plymouth, Torbay and South Devon |
| 2. Torbay and South Devon | |
| 1. Bridgend and Glamorgan Valleys/ Pen-y-bont ar Ogwr a Chymoedd Morgannwg | Powys, Bridgend and Glamorgan Valleys/ Powys, Pen-y- bont ar Ogwr a Chymoedd Morgannwg |
| 2. Powys | |
| 1. Mid and North West Shropshire | Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin |
| 2. South Shropshire | |
| 3. Wrekin | |
| 1. Neath Port Talbot/ Castell-nedd Port Talbot | Swansea and Neath Port Talbot/ Abertawe a Chastell-nedd Port Talbot |
| 2. Swansea/ Abertawe | |

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Coroner Areas and Assistant Coroners) Transitional Order 2013, which came into force on 25th July 2013, constituted the former coroners' districts under the Coroners Act 1988 as coroner areas under the Coroners and Justice Act 2009. This Order amalgamates nineteen of those coroner areas into nine new coroner areas, in accordance with Schedule 2 to the Coroners and Justice Act 2009.