### 2012 No. 51

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

## The Huntingdonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012

Made - - - - 10th January 2012

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 92(2) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007(a) ("the 2007 Act") Huntingdonshire District Council made recommendations to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) for the related alteration of the boundaries of county

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations and in exercise of the powers conferred by section 92(3) of the 2007 Act makes the following Order:

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Huntingdonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012.
- (2) This Order comes into force—

electoral divisions within the Council's area.

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of councillors for county electoral divisions, on 15th October 2012;
- (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013.

#### **Interpretation**

2. In this Order—

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(c);

"the 2009 Order" means the Huntingdonshire (Parishes) Order 2009(d).

<sup>(</sup>a) 2007 c.28. Section 92 has been amended by section 67(1) of, and paragraphs 11 and 32 of Schedule 4 to, the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20) ("the 2009 Act (c.20)").

<sup>(</sup>b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the 2009 Act (c.20). The functions of the Electoral Commission under Chapter 3 of Part 4 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28) ("the 2007 Act (c.28)") were transferred under section 60 of the 2009 Act (c.20) to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 1st April 2010.

<sup>(</sup>c) 1983 c.2. Section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the 2007 Act (c.28).

<sup>(</sup>d) The Huntingdonshire (Parishes) Order 2009 (S.I. 2009/2091) was made by the Secretary of State under sections 14 and 23 of the Local Government and Rating Act 1997 (c.29).

### Related alterations of county electoral division boundaries

- **3.**—(1) Each area described in column 1 of the Schedule ceases to be part of the county electoral division named in column 2 of that Schedule and becomes part of the county electoral division named in column 3 of that Schedule.
- (2) In this article "county electoral division" means an electoral division established by the County of Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2005(a).

<sup>(</sup>a) S.I. 2005/167.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 10th day of January 2012



10th January 2012

Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for England

## SCHEDULE Article 3

# Related alterations of county electoral divisions

1	2	3
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Old Hurst and became part of the parish of Wyton-on-the-Hill in consequence of the 2009 Order	Somersham and Earith	Warboys and Upwood
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Woodhurst and became part of the parish of Wyton-on-the-Hill in consequence of the 2009 Order	Somersham and Earith	Warboys and Upwood
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Woodhurst and became part of the parish of St Ives in consequence of the 2009 Order	Somersham and Earith	St Ives
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of St Ives and became part of the parish of Houghton and Wyton in consequence of the 2009 Order	St Ives	The Hemingfords and Fenstanton
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Hemingford Grey and became part of the parish of St Ives in consequence of the 2009 Order	The Hemingfords and Fenstanton	St Ives
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Fenstanton and became part of the parish of St Ives in consequence of the 2009 Order	The Hemingfords and Fenstanton	St Ives
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Eynesbury Hardwicke contained in Buckden, Gransden and The Offords county electoral division and became part of the parish of St Neots in consequence of the 2009 Order	Buckden, Gransden and The Offords	St Neots Eaton Socon and Eynesbury
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of St Neots and became part of the parish of Hail Weston in consequence of the 2009 Order	Little Paxton and St Neots North	Brampton and Kimbolton
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Kimbolton and became part of the parish of Stow Longa in consequence of the 2009 Order	Brampton and Kimbolton	Sawtry and Ellington
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Abbots Ripton and became part of the parish of The Stukeleys in consequence of the 2009 Order	Warboys and Upwood	Huntingdon
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Pidley- cum-Fenton and became part of the parish of Warboys in consequence of the 2009 Order	Somersham and Earith	Warboys and Upwood
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Bury and became part of the parish of Ramsey in consequence of the 2009 Order	Warboys and Upwood	Ramsey
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Ramsey and became part of the parish of Bury in consequence of the 2009 Order	Ramsey	Warboys and Upwood
Each area that ceased to be part of the parish of Ramsey and became part of the parish of Warboys in consequence of the 2009 Order	Ramsey	Warboys and Upwood

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations made by Huntingdonshire District Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England for related alterations of county electoral division boundaries. These alterations are related to parish boundary changes made by the Huntingdonshire (Parishes) Order 2009. The functions of the Electoral Commission relating to boundary change were transferred to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 1st April 2010.

The new boundaries apply in respect of county elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013.

Article 3 alters Brampton and Kimbolton; Buckden, Gransden and The Offords; Huntingdon; Little Paxton and St Neots North; Ramsey; Sawtrey and Ellington; Somersham and Earith; St Ives; St Neots Eaton Socon and Eynesbury; The Hemingfords and Fenstanton and Warboys and Upwood county electoral divisions.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.