2011 No. 796

LAND DRAINAGE, ENGLAND

FLOOD RISK MANAGEMENT, ENGLAND

The Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee (Amendment) Order 2011

 Made
 10th March 2011

 Coming into force
 30th March 2011

The Secretary of State considers—

- (a) that it is necessary or expedient to make an order under section 16(5)(b) of the Environment Act 1995(a) ("the Act") specifying the number of members to be appointed to the Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee by certain constituent councils from 30th March 2011;
- (b) that one member of that Committee should be appointed jointly by certain constituent councils.

Accordingly, the Secretary of State makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 16(5)(b) and (8) of the Act(b):

Citation and commencement

- 1. This Order—
- (a) may be cited as the Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee (Amendment) Order 2011; and
- (b) comes into force on 30th March 2011.

Amendment

- **2.** Column (1) of the Schedule to the Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee Order 1998(c) is amended as follows—
 - (a) for "Barking and Dagenham, Havering, Redbridge, Waltham Forest", substitute "Barking and Dagenham, Havering, Redbridge";

⁽a) 1995 c. 25. Section 16(5)(b) is prospectively repealed in relation to England And Wales by paragraph 53 of Schedule 2 to the Flood and Water Management Act 2010 (c. 29).

⁽b) Sections 15(7) and 16(9) define "the relevant Minister" and section 56(1) defines "the Minister". By virtue of article 2(2) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food (Dissolution) Order 2002 (S.I. 2002/794), the power conferred by section 16(5) is now exercisable by the Secretary of State in relation to any regional flood defence committee, the whole of or the greater part of which is not in Wales.

⁽c) S.I. 1998/1641.

- (b) for "Barnet, Brent, Harrow, Hounslow", substitute "Barnet, Brent, Ealing, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow";
- (c) for "Bexley, Greenwich, Lewisham, Newham, Tower Hamlets", substitute "Bexley, Bromley, Greenwich, Lewisham";
- (d) for "Bromley, Croydon, Lambeth, Southwark", substitute "Lambeth, Southwark";
- (e) for "Camden, Enfield, Hackney, Haringey, Islington", substitute "Enfield, Hackney, Haringey, Newham, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest";
- (f) for "Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Hillingdon, the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, City of Westminster, the Common Council of the City of London", substitute "Camden, Hammersmith and Fulham, Islington, the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, City of Westminster, the Common Council of the City of London"; and
- (g) for "Kingston-upon-Thames, Merton, Richmond-upon-Thames, Sutton, Wandsworth", substitute "Croydon, Kingston-upon-Thames, Merton, Richmond-upon-Thames, Sutton, Wandsworth".

10th March 2011

Richard Benyon
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/1641). It rearranges the groupings of London boroughs and the Common Council of the City of London, whose councils appoint members to the Thames Regional Flood Defence Committee.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as it has no impact on the costs of business.

© Crown copyright 2011

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.