2011 No. 161

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Bedford (Electoral Changes) Order 2011

Made - - - 28th January 2011

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(a) ("the 2009 Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) published a report dated October 2010 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Bedford(c).

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations for electoral changes and in exercise of the powers conferred by section 59(1) of the 2009 Act makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Bedford (Electoral Changes) Order 2011.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of councillors, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Bedford (Electoral Changes) Order 2011", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(d).

⁽a) 2009 c.20.

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

⁽c) The non-metropolitan district of Bedford has the status of a borough.

⁽d) 1983 c.2. Section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Wards of the district of Bedford and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Bedford are abolished.
- (2) The district is divided into twenty-seven wards each bearing a name listed in column 1 of the Schedule.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in column 2 of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Kempston and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Kempston are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into four wards named respectively—
 - (a) Kempston Central and East;
 - (b) Kempston North;
 - (c) Kempston South;
 - (d) Kempston West.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for Kempston Central and East ward.
- (5) Two councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Kempston North;
 - (b) Kempston South;
 - (c) Kempston West.

Wards of the parish of Renhold and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Renhold are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into three wards named respectively—
 - (a) Renhold North;
 - (b) South West;
 - (c) The Spires.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Five councillors are to be elected for Renhold North ward.
- (5) Two councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) South West;
 - (b) The Spires.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 28th day of January 2011



28th January 2011

Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE

Names of district wards and numbers of councillors

1	2	
Name of District Ward	Number of Councillors	
Brickhill	2	
Bromham and Biddenham	2	
Castle	2	
Cauldwell	2	
Clapham	1	
De Parys	2	
Eastcotts	1	
Elstow	1	
Goldington	2	
Great Barford	2	
Harpur	2	
Harrold	1	
Kempston Central and East	2	
Kempston North	1	
Kempston Rural	1	
Kempston South	1	
Kempston West	1	
Kingsbrook	2	
Newnham	2	
Oakley	1	
Putnoe	2	
Queens Park	2	
Riseley	1	
Sharnbrook	1	
Wilshamstead	1	
Wootton	1	
Wyboston	1	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Bedford following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and replaces them with 27 new ones. That article, the map and the Schedule also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 4 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Kempston and replaces them with 4 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 5 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Renhold and replaces them with 3 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards and parish wards. It is available at www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/eastern/bedfordshire/bedford-electoral-review and, at all reasonable times, at the offices of the council of the district of Bedford and at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

[©] Crown copyright 2011

2011 No. 161

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Bedford (Electoral Changes) Order 2011