2011 No. 1276

NATIONAL HEALTH SERVICE, ENGLAND

The Ashton, Leigh and Wigan Community Healthcare National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Amendment Order 2011

Made	-	-	15th May 2011
Coming into force	-	-	31st May 2011

The Secretary of State for Health makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 25(1), 272(7) and (8) and 273(1) of, and paragraph 5 of Schedule 4 to, the National Health Service Act 2006(a).

In accordance with section 25(3) of that Act, the prescribed consultation has been completed(b).

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Ashton, Leigh and Wigan Community Healthcare National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Amendment Order 2011 and shall come into force on 31st May 2011.

(2) In this Order—

"the Establishment Order" means the Ashton, Leigh and Wigan Community Healthcare National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 2010(c);

"the trust" means the NHS trust established by the Establishment Order.

Change of name of trust and transitional provision

2.—(1) The trust shall be called the Bridgewater Community Healthcare National Health Service Trust instead of the Ashton, Leigh and Wigan Community Healthcare National Health Service Trust.

(2) Accordingly in article 2 of the Establishment Order (establishment and name of trust), for "Ashton, Leigh and Wigan" substitute "Bridgewater".

(3) The change of name effected by paragraph (1) shall not—

- (a) affect any right or obligation of any person; or
- (b) be taken as invalidating any instrument (whether made before, on or after the day in which this Order comes into force) which refers to the trust by its previous name,

and all instruments and other documents which refer to the trust under its previous name shall be construed as referring to it under its new name.

⁽**a**) 2006 c.41.

⁽**b**) See S.I. 2010/743.

⁽c) S.I. 2010/2485.

3. In article 4(1) of the Establishment Order (directors of the trust), for "5 non-executive directors" substitute "7 non-executive directors".

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Health.

15th May 2011

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Ashton, Leigh and Wigan Community Healthcare National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 2010 ("the Establishment Order"), which established the Ashton, Leigh and Wigan Community Healthcare National Health Service Trust.

Article 2 changes the name of the trust from the Ashton, Leigh and Wigan Community Healthcare National Health Service Trust to the Bridgewater Community Healthcare National Health Service Trust and makes consequential provision.

Article 3 increases the number of non-executive directors of the trust from 5 to 7.

Simon Burns Minister of State, Department of Health

[©] Crown copyright 2011

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.