2011 No. 1191

LEGAL SERVICES COMMISSION, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Legal Services Commission (Number of Commissioners) Order 2011

Made----28th April 2011Laid before Parliament3rd May 2011Coming into force-30th May 2011

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 1(3) of the Access to Justice Act 1999(a), makes the following Order.

- **1.** This Order may be cited as The Legal Services Commission (Number of Commissioners) Order 2011 and comes into force on 30th May 2011.
 - 2. In section 1(3) of the Access to Justice Act 1999—
 - (a) in paragraph (a), for "seven" substitute "four"; and
 - (b) in paragraph (b), for "twelve" substitute "six".

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

J Djanogly
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Ministry of Justice

28th April 2011

⁽a) 1999 c. 22 The reference in section 1(3) to the Lord Chancellor was changed to the Secretary of State by S.I. 2003/1887 and changed back to the Lord Chancellor by S.I. 2005/3429.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

Section 1(3) of the Access to Justice Act 1999 provides that the Legal Services Commission ('the Commission'), which administers civil and criminal legal aid services in England and Wales, must consist of not fewer than seven members and not more than twelve members. Section 1(3) provides that the Lord Chancellor may substitute for either or both of these numbers such other numbers as he thinks appropriate.

This Order reduces the minimum number of members of the Commission from seven to four and reduces the maximum number from twelve to six.

© Crown copyright 2011

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.