Regulations made by the Scottish Ministers and laid before the Scottish Parliament under section 122(6) and (7) of the Public Health etc. (Scotland) Act 2008 for approval by resolution of the Scottish Parliament within 28 days beginning with the day on which the Regulations were made, not taking into account any period of dissolution or recess for more than 4 days.

SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 378

PUBLIC HEALTH

The Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Amendment (No. 23) Regulations 2020

Made - - - - November 2020

Laid before the Scottish at 2.45 p.m. on 13th

Parliament - - - November 2020

at 4.00 a.m. on 14th

Coming into force - - November 2020

The Scottish Ministers make the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 94(1)(b)(i) and 122(2)(b) of the Public Health etc. (Scotland) Act 2008(1), and all other powers enabling them to do so.

In accordance with section 122(6) of that Act, the Scottish Ministers consider that these Regulations need to be made urgently, without a draft having been laid before, and approved by resolution of, the Scottish Parliament.

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Amendment (No. 23) Regulations 2020.
 - (2) These Regulations come into force at 4.00 a.m. on 14 November 2020.

Amendment of the Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Regulations 2020

2.—(1) The Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Regulations 2020(**2**) are amended as follows.

^{(1) 2008} asp 5.

⁽²⁾ S.S.I. 2020/169, as amended by S.S.I. 2020/171, S.S.I. 2020/184, S.S.I. 2020/209, S.S.I. 2020/221, S.S.I. 2020/224, S.S.I. 2020/229, S.S.I. 2020/233, S.S.I. 2020/235, S.S.I. 2020/242, S.S.I. 2020/252, S.S.I. 2020/263, S.S.I. 2020/271, S.S.I. 2020/274, S.S.I. 2020/280, S.S.I. 2020/288, S.S.I. 2020/301, S.S.I. 2020/307, S.S.I. 2020/326, S.S.I. 2020/330, S.S.I. 2020/343, S.S.I. 2020/354, S.S.I. 2020/358 and S.I. 2020/942.

- (2) In Part 1 of schedule A1 (countries, territories, or parts of countries or territories)—
 - (a) after "The Azores" insert "Bahrain",
 - (b) after "Brunei" insert "Cambodia",
 - (c) after "The Canary Islands" insert "Chile",
 - (d) for "Greece" substitute "The Greek islands of Crete, Corfu, Kos, Rhodes and Zakynthos",
 - (e) after "Hong Kong" insert "Iceland",
 - (f) after "Japan" insert "Laos",
 - (g) after "Norway" insert "Qatar", and
 - (h) after "Thailand" insert "the United Arab Emirates".
- (3) In Part 2 of schedule A1 (United Kingdom overseas territories)—
 - (a) omit "The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus", and
 - (b) after "South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands" insert "Turks and Caicos Islands".

Saving

3. The amendments made by these Regulations do not apply in relation to any person who arrived in Scotland during the period beginning at 12.01 a.m. on 8 June 2020 and ending immediately prior to the coming into force of these Regulations, and the Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Regulations 2020 continue to apply to such persons as if the amendments made by these Regulations had not been made.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh At 11.29 a.m. on 13th November 2020

HUMZA YOUSAF
A member of the Scottish Government

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Regulations 2020 ("the International Travel Regulations").

They remove Greece (apart from the islands of Crete, Corfu, Kos, Rhodes and Zakynthos) from the list of exempt countries, territories and parts of countries or territories in Part 1 of schedule A1 of the International Travel Regulations. They also remove the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus from the list of United Kingdom overseas territories in that schedule. This means that persons arriving in Scotland at or after the time these Regulations come into force are no longer exempt from the movement restriction in regulation 6 of the International Travel Regulations if, during the 14 days preceding their arrival, they have departed from or transited through Greece (other than the islands of Crete, Corfu, Kos, Rhodes and Zante) or the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus. These removals from the list in schedule A1 will not affect passengers who arrive in Scotland before 4.00 a.m. on 14 November 2020.

These Regulations add the following countries to the list of exempt countries, territories and parts of countries or territories in Part 1 of schedule A1 of the International Travel Regulations:

Bahrain

Cambodia

Chile

Iceland

Laos

Oatar

The United Arab Emirates.

They also add the Turks and Caicos Islands to the list of exempt United Kingdom overseas territories in Part 2 of that schedule.

Persons arriving in Scotland from these countries, territories, or parts of countries or territories, at or after the time these Regulations come into force will be exempt from the movement restriction in regulation 6 of the International Travel Regulations.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument.