#### SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2016 No. 266

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT

## The Aberdeenshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2016

Made - - - - 13th September 2016
Laid before the Scottish
Parliament - - - 14th September 2016
Coming into force - - 30th September 2016

The Scottish Ministers make the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 17(2) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973(1) and all other powers enabling them to do so. This Order gives effect to proposals submitted to them on 26th May 2016 by the Boundary Commission under section 17(1) of that Act regarding electoral arrangements for the area of Aberdeenshire Council.

#### Citation, commencement and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Aberdeenshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2016 and comes into force on 30th September 2016.
  - (2) This Order applies only for the purposes of an election to be held on or after 4th May 2017.

#### Interpretation

- 2. In this Order—
  - (a) a reference to an electoral ward is a reference to that electoral ward as constituted in this Order; and
  - (b) "the deposited data" means the data recorded on the DVD-ROM—
    - (i) entitled "Aberdeenshire (Electoral Arrangements) 2016"; and
    - (ii) deposited with the Scottish Ministers at their offices at Victoria Quay, Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6QQ.

#### **Electoral arrangements**

**3.**—(1) The area of Aberdeenshire Council is divided into 19 electoral wards.

<sup>(1) 1973</sup> c.65. The functions of the Secretary of State were transferred to the Scottish Ministers by virtue of section 53 of the Scotland Act 1998 (c.46).

- (2) The number and name of an electoral ward is as specified in the entry in columns 1 and 2 respectively of the schedule of this Order.
- (3) The number of councillors to be returned for an electoral ward is as specified in the entry in column 3 of the schedule of this Order corresponding to that electoral ward.
  - (4) The boundaries of the electoral wards are as described by the deposited data.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 13th September 2016

JOE FITZPATRICK
Authorised to sign by the Scottish Ministers

# SCHEDULE Article 3 ELECTORAL WARDS

Column 1	Column 2	Column 3
Number of electoral ward	Name of electoral ward	Number of councillors to be returned
1	Banff and District	3
2	Troup	3
3	Fraserburgh and District	4
4	Central Buchan	4
5	Peterhead North and Rattray	4
6	Peterhead South and Cruden	3
7	Turriff and District	4
8	Mid Formartine	4
9	Ellon and District	4
10	West Garioch	3
11	Inverurie and District	4
12	East Garioch	4
13	Westhill and District	4
14	Huntly, Strathbogie and Howe of Alford	4
15	Aboyne, Upper Deeside and Donside	3
16	Banchory and Mid Deeside	3
17	North Kincardine	4
18	Stonehaven and Lower Deeside	4
19	Mearns	4

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to proposals made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland for the future electoral arrangements for the area of Aberdeenshire Council. The area of

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Aberdeenshire Council is divided into 19 electoral wards as described in the schedule of the Order. This Order applies only for the purposes of an election to be held on or after 4th May 2017.

The Order describes the boundaries of the new electoral wards by means of data stored on a DVD-ROM. Copies of the DVD-ROM are to be deposited with, and maps of the boundaries of the electoral wards are available (in hard copy or on-line) from, the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland and Aberdeenshire Council.