SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No. 22

EDUCATION

The Designation of Regional Colleges (Scotland) Order 2014

Made - - - - 22nd January 2014
Laid before the Scottish
Parliament - - - 24th January 2014
Coming into force - 3rd March 2014

The Scottish Ministers make the following order in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 7A(1) and 34(2) of the Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act 2005(1) and all other powers enabling them to do so.

In accordance with section 7A(2) of that Act, they have consulted with the boards of management of the colleges to which this Order relates, the representatives of any trade union which the colleges recognise or which otherwise appear to the Scottish Ministers to be representative of the colleges' staff, the colleges' students' associations, the local authorities for the areas in which the colleges are situated, the Scottish Further and Higher Education Funding Council and any other person appearing to them as likely to be affected by the Order.

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Designation of Regional Colleges (Scotland) Order 2014 and comes into force on 3rd March 2014.

Designation of Regional Colleges

- **2.** (1) The following colleges of further education whose boards of management are established in pursuance of Part 1 of the Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act 1992(2) are designated as regional colleges—
 - The Board of Management of Ayrshire College(3);

^{(1) 2005} asp 6. Section 7A was inserted by section 5 of the Post-16 Education (Scotland) Act 2013 (asp 12).

^{(2) 1992} c.37. A "college of further education" is defined as the governing body of the college by section 35(1) of the Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act 2005 (asp 6), as amended by paragraph 8(23)(a)(i) of the schedule to the Post-16 Education (Scotland) Act 2013 (asp 12).

⁽³⁾ Ayrshire College is prescribed by S.I. 1992/1597. The name of Ayrshire College was changed from Ayr College on 1st August 2013 in accordance with section 3(4) of the Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act 1992 (c.37) ("the 1992 Act"). Section 3(4) of the 1992 Act was amended by section 30 of the Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act 2005 (asp 6) ("the 2005 Act").

- The Board of Management of Borders College(4);
- The Board of Management of Dumfries and Galloway College(5);
- The Board of Management of Dundee and Angus College(6);
- The Board of Management of Edinburgh College(7);
- The Board of Management of Fife College(8);
- The Board of Management of Forth Valley College of Further and Higher Education(9);
- The Board of Management of North East Scotland College(10);
- The Board of Management of West College Scotland(11);
- The Board of Management of West Lothian College(12).
- (2) The designation of a college of further education as a regional college by paragraph (1) remains in effect notwithstanding any change of name of the college of further education.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 22nd January 2014

MICHAEL RUSSELL
A member of the Scottish Government

⁽⁴⁾ Borders College is prescribed by S.I. 1992/1597.

⁽⁵⁾ Dumfries and Galloway College is prescribed by S.I. 1992/1597. The name of Dumfries and Galloway College was changed from Dumfries and Galloway College of Technology by S.I. 1994/2618.

⁽⁶⁾ Dundee and Angus College is prescribed by S.I. 1992/1597. The name of Dundee and Angus College was changed from Dundee College on 1st November 2013 in accordance with section 3(4) of the 1992 Act. Section 3(4) of the 1992 Act was amended by section 30 of the 2005 Act. The name of Dundee College was changed from Dundee College of Further Education by S.I. 1993/1891.

⁽⁷⁾ Edinburgh College is prescribed by S.I. 1992/1597. The name of Edinburgh College was changed from Edinburgh's Telford College on 10th June 2013 in accordance with section 3(4) of the 1992 Act. Section 3(4) of the 1992 Act was amended by section 30 of the 2005 Act. The name of Edinburgh's Telford College was changed from Telford College by S.I. 1995/2960.

⁽⁸⁾ Fife College is prescribed by S.I. 1992/1597. The name of Fife College was changed from Carnegie College on 1st August 2013 in accordance with section 3(4) of the 1992 Act. The name of Carnegie College was changed from Lauder College on 30th November 2007 in accordance with section 3(4) of the 1992 Act. Section 3(4) of the 1992 Act was amended by section 30 of the 2005 Act.

⁽⁹⁾ Forth Valley College of Further and Higher Education is prescribed by S.I. 1992/1597. The name of Forth Valley College of Further and Higher Education was changed from Falkirk College of Further and Higher Education by S.S.I. 2005/317. The name of Falkirk College of Further and Higher Education was changed from Falkirk College of Technology by S.I. 1995/2960.

⁽¹⁰⁾ North East Scotland College is prescribed by S.I. 1992/1597. The name of North East Scotland College was changed from Aberdeen College on 1st November 2013 in accordance with section 3(4) of the 1992 Act. Section 3(4) of the 1992 Act was amended by section 30 of the 2005 Act. The name of Aberdeen College was changed from Aberdeen College of Further Education by S.I. 1993/1891.

⁽¹¹⁾ West College Scotland is prescribed by S.I. 1992/1597. The name of West College Scotland was changed from Clydebank College on 1st August in accordance with section 3(4) of the 1992 Act. Section 3(4) of the 1992 Act was amended by section 30 of the 2005 Act.

⁽¹²⁾ West Lothian College is prescribed by S.I. 1992/1597.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates each of the ten colleges of further education listed in article 2(1) as a regional college. Article 2(2) provides that the designation of each college of further education as a regional college remains in force notwithstanding any change of name of the college of further education.