STATUTORY RULES OF NORTHERN IRELAND

2015 No. 345

CRIMINAL LAW

The Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015

Made - - - - 2015

Coming into operation 9th November 2015

The Department of Justice makes the following Regulations, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 87(1)(a) of the Sexual Offences Act 2003(1) and now vested in it(2):

Citation and commencement

1. These Regulations may be cited as the Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015 and shall come into operation on 9th November 2015.

Prescribed police stations

2. The police stations listed in the Schedule to these Regulations are prescribed for the purposes of section 87(1)(a) of the Sexual Offences Act 2003.

Revocation

3. The Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2012 (**3**) are revoked.

^{(1) 2003} c.42.

⁽²⁾ Article 12 of, and paragraph 77 (1) and (2) of Schedule 14 to, the Northern Ireland Act 1998 (Devolution of Policing and Justice Functions) Order 2010 (S.I. 2010/976) transferred the function of the Secretary of State under section 87(1(a)) of the Sexual Offences Act 2003 (the 2003 Act) (in its application to Northern Ireland) to the Department of Justice in Northern Ireland; section 138(5) and (8) of the 2003 Act which makes relevant provision relating to the exercise of the section 87(1)(a) power of the Department of Justice was inserted by Article 120f, and paragraph 77(1) and (3) of Schedule 14 to, S.I. 2010/976.

⁽³⁾ S.R. 2012 No.325.

Sealed with the Official Seal of the Department of Justice on 23rd September 2015.



David Ford Minister of Justice

SCHEDULE Regulation 2

Police stations in Northern Ireland

Police Ireland	Service	of	Northern	Antrim Police Station	Antrim Road Police Station
ITCIAIIG				24 Castle Street	274 - 280 Antrim Road
				Antrim	Belfast
				BT41 4AU	BT15 5AA
				Ardmore Police Station	Armagh Police Station
				3 Belfast Road	1-2 City View
				Newry	Newry Road
				BT34 1EF	Armagh
					BT60 1EP
				Ballycastle Police Station	Ballymena Police Station
				12 Ramoan Road	26 Galgorm Road
				Ballycastle	Ballymena
				BT54 6EG	BT43 5EX
				Ballymoney Police Station	Banbridge Police Station
				79 Charlotte Street	14 Castlewellan Road
				Ballymoney	Banbridge
				BT53 6AZ	BT32 4AX
				Bangor Police Station	Castlereagh Police Station
				1-5 Castle Park Avenue	Alexander Road
				Bangor	Belfast
				BT20 4BS	ВТ6 9НН
				Coleraine Police Station	Downpatrick Police Station
				17 Lodge Road	43 Irish Street
				Coleraine	Downpatrick
				BT52 1LY	BT30 6BX
				Dungannon Police Station	Enniskillen Police Station

1 Quarry Lane 48 Queen Street

Dungannon Enniskillen

BT70 1HX BT74 7JR

Grosvenor Road Police Station Larne Police Station

105 Grosvenor Road 2 Hope Street

Belfast Larne

BT12 4GL BT40 1UR

Limavady Police Station Lisburn Police Station

11 Connell Street 15 Barrack Street

Limavady Lisburn

BT49 0EA BT28 1TJ

Lurgan Police Station Magherafelt Police Station

62 Church Place 45-47 Meeting Street

Lurgan Magherafelt

BT66 6HD BT45 6BW

Musgrave Police Station Newtownabbey Police Station

60 Victoria Street 418 Shore Road

Belfast Newtownabbey

BT1 3GL BT37 9RT

Newtownards Police Station Omagh Police Station

36-40 John Street 1 Derry Road

Newtownards Omagh

BT23 4LX BT78 5DR

Strabane Police Station Strand Road Police Station

23 - 25 Bowling Green 81A Strand Road

Strabane Londonderry

BT82 8BW BT48 7AA

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

The Sexual Offences Act 2003 ("the 2003 Act") imposes notification requirements on offenders convicted of certain sexual offences. These offenders are called "relevant offenders". The 2003 Act requires relevant offenders to notify certain personal information to the police, both at the outset and periodically thereafter. Section 87(1) of the 2003 Act provides that relevant offenders give such notification by attending at any police station in the relevant offender's local police area which is prescribed in regulations. These Regulations prescribe those police stations in Northern Ireland.

For the purposes of section 87 of the 2003 Act, "local police area" is defined in section 88(3) of the 2003 Act. Section 88(3) of the 2003 Act applies as if Northern Ireland were a police area (section 88(5) of the 2003 Act). In their application to Northern Ireland references to police areas in Part 2 of the 2003 Act are to be read as references to Northern Ireland (section 136(3) of the 2003 Act).

These Regulations revoke and replace the Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2012 (S.R. 2012 No.325) so as to provide an updated list of prescribed police stations which are available to relevant sex offenders in Northern Ireland, for notification purposes.

Specifically, the changes made to the list of prescribed police stations relate to: the removal of Carrickfergus police station from the list, as it no longer provides the required facilities to receive relevant offenders, and the refinement and updating of the addresses of the police stations located at Antrim Road; Bangor; Castlereagh; Coleraine; Grosvenor Road; Magherafelt; Newtownabbey and Strabane.